The simFlight Network Forums

Visual Basic Question

Hi Guys,

I have a small programming problem that I was hoping someone could help me with. I am playing around with the FSUIPC SDK and VB and experimenting with the parallel port. Basically I have written a small program that is supposed to turn on LED's connected to the port when the Marker lights are activated in the sim. I have everything working (cool) apart from a small glitch. This is when I am over the Inner marker. It de-activates the light too early. It is fairly consistant when it happens, it seems to be at the same point when the light turns itself off, even though the sim light is still on. I am not really a programmer, so it is probably something stupid I am not doing right. The code fragment for the relevant routine is below. You will note that it is an expansion of the example in the SDK. The PortOut Call turns the appropriate pin on or off.

Private Sub Timer2_Timer()

Dim dwResult As Long

Dim omiInnermkr() As Byte

Dim omiMiddlemkr() As Byte

Dim omiOutermkr() As Byte

ReDim omiInnermkr(2)

ReDim omiMiddlemkr(2)

ReDim omiOutermkr(2)

' As an example of retrieving data, we will get the Marker status.

' If we wanted additional reads/writes at the same time, we could put them here

If FSUIPC_Read(&HBAC, 2, VarPtr(omiInnermkr(1)), dwResult) Then

' "Read" proceeded without any problems

If FSUIPC_Process(dwResult) Then

' "Process" proceeded without any problems

If omiInnermkr(1) Then

shpInner.FillColor = &HFFFFF

Call PortOut(888, 1)

Else

If omiInnermkr(1) = False Then

shpInner.FillColor = &H0&

' Call PortOut(888, 0)

End If

End If

Else

Label7.Caption = "Processing: " & ResultText(dwResult)

End If

Else

' Unable to "Read"

Label7.Caption = "Reading: " & ResultText(dwResult)

End If

If FSUIPC_Read(&HBAE, 2, VarPtr(omiMiddlemkr(0)), dwResult) Then

If omiMiddlemkr(0) Then

shpMiddle.FillColor = &HFF00&

Call PortOut(888, 2)

Else

If omiMiddlemkr(0) = False Then

Call PortOut(888, 0)