Jump to content


Photo

PMDG 737 NGX FMC won't load SID or STAR


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 CajunRon

CajunRon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationLongview, TX

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:13 PM

When I create a flight plan in FS Commander with appropriate SID and STAR and then save it to PMDG format I get the dialog box which reads " Saving FlightPlan include SID's, Star's and Transition for PMDG?" I select "YES".

For example I create the following flight plan in FSC: KSEA HAROB4.HISKU PYE1.ENI MENLO KSFO and save it in PMDG format.

But when I load the flight plan into the 737 NGX FMC I only get two waypoints, ENI and MENLO. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Can anyone help.
  • 0

#2 mopperle

mopperle

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • LocationETSF

Posted 03 January 2012 - 12:21 PM

Read the notes to SP1b of your NGX and you'll get the answer. ;)
  • 0

Otto
----------
FSX AccPack on Win7 64bit
FSC 9.5 Download version on Win7 64bit
FSUIPC 4.929
WideFS 6.995
----------

electric-lightning-banner.jpg


#3 VolkerHeine

VolkerHeine

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,325 posts
  • LocationEDDK Germany

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:26 PM

Hi,

that is the reason why, when you save the flight plan, the following message appears:
Saving Flight Plan include SID's, Star's and Transition for PMDG?

Volker
  • 0

#4 CajunRon

CajunRon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationLongview, TX

Posted 03 January 2012 - 08:16 PM

Read the notes to SP1b of your NGX and you'll get the answer. ;)


Okay, thanks (I just purchased NGX so there wasn't a separate SP1b to install (it was built in to the download) but I'm assuming the notes are available somewhere)
  • 0

#5 CajunRon

CajunRon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationLongview, TX

Posted 03 January 2012 - 08:20 PM

Hi,

that is the reason why, when you save the flight plan, the following message appears:
Saving Flight Plan include SID's, Star's and Transition for PMDG?

Volker


Volker, I'm not sure I understand you response. The dialog box you quote gives me the option of "YES" or "CANCEL" (I think). So I was assuming this was asking for "permission" to save the SID's, Stars etc....which I did. But there are no SIDs or Stars

I did note that I had not added any airways (the SID and STAR where close to each other and automatically connected). I added an airway and the STAR shows up in the FMC...the SID still does not. Does it have to do with the fact that I am not first selecting the Runway in the DEP/APP function before loading the flight plan into the FMC...I'll try that tonight.
  • 0

#6 Richard Oberwinkler

Richard Oberwinkler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 04 January 2012 - 03:03 AM

Hi

The PMDG 737 FMC will not accept any Sids created with an external application after SP1b. Thus you need to enter the Sid manually in the FMC. The reason for that is that you normally only know the SID to use after you contacted ground and got your Dep. RW.

regards
richi
  • 0

#7 mopperle

mopperle

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • LocationETSF

Posted 04 January 2012 - 10:35 AM

OK, to prevent any further question, I quote out of the release notes of SP1b:

I want to direct everyone's attention to the first item listed here, as this is extremely important. Most all the applications that have been created to export .RTE files for use with the PMDG line of products produce RTE files that include your runway/SID and STAR selections. After hundreds and hundreds of hours of research, we have discovered that saving files in this manner is not only highly unrealistic, but creates problems for the FMS when it comes to correctly parsing/computing/interpolating performance along the flight path. For this reason, beginning with SP1b, the FMS will disregard any runway or SID/STAR information contained in a RTE file *unless that RTE file was created by the FMS itself.*

and

Protections added for .rte files created by third party applications: Many third-party flight planning applications that export .rte files for use with the PMDG 737NGX use a bogus and illogical save process that puts the runway and SID/STAR information into the saved route as part of the route file construct. This is not done in real world operations, and since the PMDG 737NGX uses a real world FMS route process, it creates problems that some uers have erroneously reported as being FMS errors or failures. To protect users from this illogical process, when .rte files are loaded into the FMS beginning with SP1b (build 3118) the PMDG 737NGX FMS will disregard any runway/SID/STAR information contained within the .rte file UNLESS that .rte file was created by the PMDG 737NGX FMS. This will require users to manually select the runway/SID/STAR information from within the FMS as is done by 737 pilots. The inclusion of terminal procedures in a COROUTE is quite unrealistic and PMDG recommends that the authors of these programs ammend their .rte export processes to include only the route of flight without runway/SID/STAR information in order to make the compliant with real-world operations

Source

So at the end it is not relevant what you're going to choose, as the NGX skips alls RWY, SID and STAR informations anyway
  • 0

Otto
----------
FSX AccPack on Win7 64bit
FSC 9.5 Download version on Win7 64bit
FSUIPC 4.929
WideFS 6.995
----------

electric-lightning-banner.jpg


#8 CajunRon

CajunRon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationLongview, TX

Posted 05 January 2012 - 01:36 AM

Thank you one and all for clearing this up. I hunted high and low in forums, documentations etc with what I though was reasonable key words and could not find this information.

I have come to the conclusion that getting a stable FSX simulator with acceptable performance and figuring all of the stuff like this out is 10 times harder than learning to fly the PMDG 737NGX.
  • 0

#9 philldant

philldant

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts
  • LocationDenver

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:57 PM

So to be clear, I am looking at FSC as a purchase and based on what I read here, I can make the plan but then edit the FMC on the PMDG aircraft to match. Am I correct?
  • 0

#10 robert mcdonald

robert mcdonald

    Newbie

  • new Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 09 February 2012 - 07:08 PM

When I create a flight plan in FS Commander with appropriate SID and STAR and then save it to PMDG format I get the dialog box which reads " Saving FlightPlan include SID's, Star's and Transition for PMDG?" I select "YES".

For example I create the following flight plan in FSC: KSEA HAROB4.HISKU PYE1.ENI MENLO KSFO and save it in PMDG format.

But when I load the flight plan into the 737 NGX FMC I only get two waypoints, ENI and MENLO. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Can anyone help.


Yes, you can manually add the SIDs and STARs back to your 737NGX when you choose the DEParture and ARRival airports on your FMC pre-flight.
Match the SID/STAR to what your Flight Plan called for. This is by design at PMDG (join AVSIM.net, they host the PMDG support forums-- it's FREE)

Robert
  • 0

#11 mopperle

mopperle

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • LocationETSF

Posted 10 February 2012 - 10:53 AM

So to be clear, I am looking at FSC as a purchase and based on what I read here, I can make the plan but then edit the FMC on the PMDG aircraft to match. Am I correct?

Yes, you have to add SID/STAR in the NGX's FMC. But this is a limitation of the NGX and not FSC!
But it could make sense to add SID/STAR anyway, as when saving the plan you can choose to save it for various other aircraft (like iFly) simultaneously and so get e.g. a plan for the NGX without SID/STAR and for the iFly with SID/STAR.
  • 0

Otto
----------
FSX AccPack on Win7 64bit
FSC 9.5 Download version on Win7 64bit
FSUIPC 4.929
WideFS 6.995
----------

electric-lightning-banner.jpg





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


About simFlight - simflight.com - simflight.de - simflight.fr - simflight.nl - simflight.pt - simflight.es - simflight.it - simflight.jp - simrussia.com - simMarket