The simFlight Network Forums

AXIS CONTROL VIA A USB SERIAL DEVICE>NOT HID<

Hello all.

I am not sure how to ask this question. So I will explain what I need to do. I have been using EPIC thru FS Comm for many years to send Joystick axis to FS 9 and all was well, now however the EPIC card has died...So I have built an Arduino UNO throttel controler. Arduino is a Serial USB device (Not a HID device as is a joystick, I think)...So I wrote a VB 2010 program to interface to the Adruino and then to FS 9. I say in the VB pgm to read the serial value then send that to an FSUIPC offset. That works....But, as it is not a joystick axis I can not see it in FSUIPC axis assiments ( the problem is this, The ELEV. trim does not disconnect when in auto pilot so My trim send via an offset is conflicting with auto pilot,Yes I undestand that.

My question is then, How can I send the Arduino value ,As a USB Serial device to FSUIPC and FSUIPC see it as a joystick axis.?

I have read the docs on the LUA plugin "COM" and this seems to be the solution but I don't fully understand what I need to do to use it. For some reason I can't find the HIDDemo script in the LUA examples as stated in the docs. Pete has given instructions on

Handling VRInsight devices in FSUIPC

which is a serial USB device and so is the Arduino, but I need some direction on how to do this. as I don't have the "SerialFP2" Driver. So I am kinda lost. I don't know if I need that driver or not to do this.

To sum this up.... I think I need to make the Arduino value sent to be seen as a joystick axis so FS9 will disconnect it in the auto pilot mode, I think,but don't know how. Ron.

I say in the VB pgm to read the serial value then send that to an FSUIPC offset. That works....But, as it is not a joystick axis I can not see it in FSUIPC axis assiments