Jump to content


Photo

FSUIPC menu does not show in FS2004


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 BBQSteve

BBQSteve

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:28 PM

Yes I have searched and no I did not find a similar problem.

Running Windows 7 and FS2004, FSUIPC is version 3.999s

Installed FSUIPC, started up FS2004, hit ALT key to bring up menues, selected MODULES, selected FSUIPC, black screen with mouse pointer, no menu. I know it is there because I can right click in the program and see the menu screen for a split second until it returns to the previous cockpit view. I am running registered and the whole process went fine. FS2004 is installed on a USB hard drive (K:) not that this should make a difference. Just makes it easier when you have to rebuild an operating system. Log and ini file included. Anything else you need?

Also, registration key should not include email address in key calculation. What if a person changes email addresses like me? Do we request a new key?

Log File:

********* FSUIPC, Version 3.999s by Pete Dowson *********
Running on Windows Version 5.1 Build 2600 Service Pack 2 ????????????? Running Windows 7 Service Pack 1
Verifying Certificate for "K:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Flight Simulator 9\MODULES\FSUIPC.DLL" now ...
SUCCESS! Signature verifies okay!
Running inside FS2004 (FS9.1 CONTROLS.DLL, FS9.1 WEATHER.DLL)
User Name="Lewis Stevens"
User Addr="steve.stevens@verizon.net"
FSUIPC Key is provided
WIDEFS not user registered, or expired
Module base=61000000
WeatherReadInterval=4
LogOptions=00000001
DebugStatus=15
1248 System time = 06/08/2012 22:48:20 NOT SURE WHERE THIS CAME FROM, IT IS AUGUST. SAME FOR OTHER DATES, MUST BE IN FS SCENARIO
1263 K:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Flight Simulator 9\
1263 System time = 06/08/2012 22:48:20, FS2004 time = 12:00:00 (00:00Z)
1763 C:\Users\Steve Stevens\Documents\Flight Simulator Files\KORF.flt
1778 AIRCRAFT\DHC8-Q300B_US_Airways_X\PAD_Dhc8.air
1794 Aircraft="DHC8-Q311 - US Airways Express N343EN"
10140 C:\Users\Steve Stevens\Documents\Flight Simulator Files\KORF.flt
13338 Clear All Weather requested: external weather discarded
17675 Advanced Weather Interface Enabled
22948 Traffic File #15 = "scenery\world\scenery\traffic030528"
174081 WeatherOptions set, now 00003207 (timer=0)
197762 C:\Users\Steve Stevens\Documents\Flight Simulator Files\KORF.flt
202099 Clear All Weather requested: external weather discarded
233221 System time = 06/08/2012 22:52:12, FS2004 time = 14:00:51 (18:00Z)
233221 *** FSUIPC log file being closed
Memory managed: 0 Allocs, 960 Freed
********* FSUIPC Log file closed ***********

.ini file

[JoyNames]
AutoAssignLetters=No
[General]
UpdatedByVersion=3999s
WindSmoothing=No
AutoTaxiWind=No
PropTaxiWind=No
TimeSetMode=Partial
WhiteMessages=No
ThrottleSyncAll=No
GraduatedVisibility=No
LowerVisAltitude=0
UpperVisAltitude=25000
UpperVisibility=6000
GenerateCirrus=No
WindShearSharp=No
UpperWindGusts=No
ExtendMetarMaxVis=Yes
CorrectVSsign=Yes
MouseWheelTrim=No
MouseWheelTrimSpeed=1
AxisInterceptIfDirect=No
DisconnTrimForAP=No
ZeroElevForAPAlt=No
AutoClearWeather=Yes
ExtendTopWind=Yes
WindSmoothness=5
SmoothPressure=No
PressureSmoothness=5
SmoothVisibility=No
VisibilitySmoothness=2
MaxSurfaceWind=0
WindLimitLevel=200
WindDiscardLevel=400
WindAjustAltitude=No
WindAjustAltitudeBy=2000
MinimumVisibility=0
MaximumVisibilityFewClouds=0
MaximumVisibility=0
MaximumVisibilityOvercast=0
MaximumVisibilityRainy=0
OneCloudLayer=No
ThinClouds=No
ThinThunderClouds=No
CloudThinness=1000
ThunderCloudThinness=10000
CloudTurbulence=No
CloudIcing=No
WindTurbulence=No
SuppressAllGusts=No
ExternalOptionControl=Yes
AutoTuneADF=No
KeepFS98CloudCover=No
ShowPMcontrols=No
MagicBattery=No
RudderSpikeRemoval=No
ElevatorSpikeRemoval=No
AileronSpikeRemoval=No
ReversedElevatorTrim=No
StopAutoFuel=No
TrapUserInterrupt=Yes
NavFreq50KHz=No
ClockSync=Yes
SmoothIAS=Yes
SetVisUpperAlt=No
VisUpperAltLimit=6000
MaxIce=3
MinIce=-1
WindSmoothingDelay=0
WindSmoothAirborneOnly=No
LimitWindVariance=No
VisSmoothingDelay=0
VisSmoothAirborneOnly=No
TrafficControlDirect=Yes
SuppressCloudTurbulence=No
SuppressWindTurbulence=No
SpoilerIncrement=512
ZapSound=firework
ShortAircraftNameOk=No
UseProfiles=Yes
TCASid=Flight
TCASrange=40
TrafficScanPerFrame=10
AxisCalibration=No
CentredDialogue=Yes
ShowMultilineWindow=Yes
SuppressSingleline=No
SuppressMultilineFS=No
ClearWeatherDynamics=No
OwnWeatherChanges=No
FixWindows=No
FixControlAccel=No
WeatherReadInterval=4
MoveBGLvariables=Yes
TimeForSelect=4
WeatherReadsFast=No
LuaRerunDelay=66
MainMenu=&Modules
SubMenu=&FSUIPC ...
BrakeReleaseThreshold=75
DontResetAxes=No
JoystickTimeout=20
PollGFTQ6=Yes
BlankDisplays=No
AxesWrongRange=No
[JoystickCalibration]
AllowSuppressForPFCquad=Yes
ExcludeThrottleSet=Yes
ExcludeMixtureSet=Yes
ExcludePropPitchSet=Yes
SepRevsJetsOnly=No
ApplyHeloTrim=No
UseAxisControlsForNRZ=No
FlapsSetControl=0
FlapDetents=No
ReverserControl=66292
Reverser1Control=66422
Reverser2Control=66425
Reverser3Control=66428
Reverser4Control=66431
MaxThrottleForReverser=256
AileronTrimControl=0
RudderTrimControl=0
CowlFlaps1Control=0
CowlFlaps2Control=0
CowlFlaps3Control=0
CowlFlaps4Control=0
MaxSteerSpeed=60
Aileron=-16383,0,0,16128/8
Elevator=-16383,0,512,16192/8
Rudder=-16383,0,512,16383/8
Throttle=-16383,16383/8
PropPitch=-16384,16256/8
Mixture=-16384,16128
LeftBrake=-16380,16380/16
RightBrake=-16380,16380/16
SlopeRudder=6
SlopeElevator=6
[MacroFiles]
1=APchart
[Buttons]
ButtonRepeat=20,10
1=P1,1,K83,8
2=P1,32,C65674,0
[Buttons.DHC8-Q311 - US Airways Express N343EN]
0=P1,0,K190,10
1=P1,2,K121,8
2=P1,3,K192,8
3=R1,4,C65615,0
4=R1,5,C65683,0
5=P1,6,C66278,0
6=P1,7,C66279,0
7=P1,14,C65759,0
8=P1,15,C65758,0
9=R1,20,C65602,0
10=P1,21,C66536,0
11=P1,32,C65674,0
12=P1,33,C65675,0
13=P1,34,C65676,0
14=P1,35,C65677,0
15=P1,36,C65678,0
16=P1,37,C65679,0
17=P1,38,C65680,0
18=P1,39,C65681,0
19=U1,20,C65604,0
[Axes.DHC8-Q311 - US Airways Express N343EN]
0=0X,256,D,7,0,0,0
1=0Y,1,D,8,0,0,0
2=0R,256,D,3,0,0,0
3=1X,256,D,1,0,0,0
4=1Y,256,D,2,0,0,0
5=1Z,256,D,4,0,0,0
6=1R,256,D,6,0,0,0
7=1U,256,D,5,0,0,0
[Profile.DHC8-Q311 - US Airways Express N343EN]
1=DHC8-Q311 - US Airways Express N343EN
[Sounds]
Path=K:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Flight Simulator 9\Sound\
Device1=Primary Sound Driver
Device2=Speakers (Auzen X-Meridian 7.1)
Device3=SONY TV-3 (NVIDIA High Definition Audio)
Device4=Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Device5=Rear Digital Output(Optical) (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Device6=S/PDIF Pass-through Device (Auzen X-Meridian 7.1)
  • 0

#2 Pete Dowson

Pete Dowson

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 27,288 posts
  • LocationNear Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 07 August 2012 - 02:01 PM

Yes I have searched and no I did not find a similar problem.


I'm very surprised you found no mention as it used to be a very common problem.

Installed FSUIPC, started up FS2004, hit ALT key to bring up menues, selected MODULES, selected FSUIPC, black screen with mouse pointer, no menu.


This is ALWAYS due to bad or out of date video drivers. You can either try to fix it by updating or changing video drivers, or by using FS in Windowed mode instead of full screen (or by just changing to Windowed mode to access the menu, then back again afterwards).

Also, registration key should not include email address in key calculation. What if a person changes email addresses like me? Do we request a new key?


No. The email address is not used as an email address, only as a means to identifying you more uniquely. Names are not unique, believe it or not! You could use your house address or something else like age and mother's name, but the sales website is only geared up to use email addresses and that makes it a lot more straight-forward.

Running on Windows Version 5.1 Build 2600 Service Pack 2 ????????????? Running Windows 7 Service Pack 1


But your FS is running in XP compatibility mode. That identifies the operating system as XP as far as FS9 and FSUIPC are concerned.

Pete
  • 0

#3 BBQSteve

BBQSteve

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 07 August 2012 - 02:09 PM

Never saw it before in the many years I have been using FSUIPC. New graphics drivers? This board is a brand new EVGA NVIDIA card with new drivers. Now what? Not sure how it got in compatablity mode.

Thanks.
  • 0

#4 Pete Dowson

Pete Dowson

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 27,288 posts
  • LocationNear Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 07 August 2012 - 02:25 PM

Never saw it before in the many years I have been using FSUIPC. New graphics drivers? This board is a brand new EVGA NVIDIA card with new drivers. Now what?


Did you download new drivers or use the one supplied on a CD with the card?

As I said, there is nothing that can be done in FSUIPC. It is a graphics incompatibility between FS and full screen mode which is only fixable with drivers. If you refuse to try other drivers, just switch to windowed mode to access the options.

Not sure how it got in compatablity mode.


I think Windows automatically sets it into compatibility mode because it sees it is not a Windows 7 program and doesn't obey Windows 7 rules. FS9 long predates this operating system. If you installed it into the default "Program Files" folders it will also be aliassing the folders because all Program Files folders are protected from being written to even by the programs installed there. Win Vista and Win 7 programs are supposed to put all changing data in "ProgramData" and "AppData" folders, like FSX.

Pete
  • 0

#5 BBQSteve

BBQSteve

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 07 August 2012 - 02:32 PM

Do you record dates as day/month/year? I am still getting the wrong date recorded unless you are.
  • 0

#6 BBQSteve

BBQSteve

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 07 August 2012 - 02:40 PM

I don't refuse to try new drivers, there are no newer drivers! Now I got to find windowed mode. As I said FS is loaded to a USB hard drive, not the root programs directory on the main drive.
  • 0

#7 Pete Dowson

Pete Dowson

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 27,288 posts
  • LocationNear Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 07 August 2012 - 02:44 PM

Do you record dates as day/month/year? I am still getting the wrong date recorded unless you are.


Dates in my country are always day/month/year. But where are you thinking dates are "recorded"? I don't understand your reference I'm afraid. You never said anything about "wrong dates", at least not in this thread!

[LATER] Ah -- you mean your comment in red later in the Log file? Sorry, didn't see that.
If the log was for 6th August, isn't it obvious that the date is correct as day/month/year? As an English made program it is naturally going to be that way in any case.

Pete
  • 0

#8 Pete Dowson

Pete Dowson

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 27,288 posts
  • LocationNear Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 07 August 2012 - 02:47 PM

I don't refuse to try new drivers, there are no newer drivers!


The very latest nVidia drivcers are a mess, actually, at least on my system (they reduce FSX frame rate by about 75% on my system). I had to backtrack. So it isn't necessarily "later" I mean by "new", but "different".

Now I got to find windowed mode.


Alt+Enter switches back and forth.

Pete
  • 0

#9 BBQSteve

BBQSteve

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 07 August 2012 - 04:26 PM

Mr. Dowson, you seem to take offense to some of my questions. As a citizen of the USA and a well traveled one, outside of my country I mean, I am used to seeing dates written all kinds of ways. However the date 06 08 2012 is difficult to decipher if you do not know A) the format used or B) where the date is derived. In my FS saved flight the date just happened to be save way back in June. A coincidence, unfortunate for either of us in determining the correct date.

I am not, nor will not challenge you when asking a question, for you know better than I, FSUIPC, a great little program I might add.

As to the NVIDIA drivers, let me enlighten you a bit. My system was special build in 2009. A DX58SO MB i7-920 processor and 4GB of Corsair DDR3 sticks. At the time a very powerful machine with dual Radeon Saphire HD4850 Graphics cards running under VISTA Ultimate. As of February of this year, about the same time MS put out a security update, my system would KSOD and BSOD almost every time I opened an IE window. To the point that I have been troubleshooting this problem until yesterday when I installed the NVIDIA board. I have not had a problem since. In the meanwhile of troubleshooting I replaced both of those boards with a Radeon HD6770, which did almost the exact same thing. Upgraded (maybe you can call it that) to Windows 7 and also have a new EVGA motherboard on its way today. In total about a thousand dollars for my troubles and many, many hours of my own troubleshooting and on the phone with ATI and MS. So please do not tell me how bad NVIDIA drivers are, I can show you hundreds of mini memory dumps of how bad Radeon/ATI/AMD drivers are.

Off subject, sorry. Thanks for your assistance in this matter. I have it solved with your help and mine.
  • 0

#10 Pete Dowson

Pete Dowson

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 27,288 posts
  • LocationNear Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 07 August 2012 - 04:50 PM

Mr. Dowson, you seem to take offense to some of my questions.


No, not at all. I just answer your questions and hope I'm helping. Why do you think I'm offended?

So please do not tell me how bad NVIDIA drivers are, I can show you hundreds of mini memory dumps of how bad Radeon/ATI/AMD drivers are.


Not all nVidia drivers are bad, and the recent ones which are bad for me are working extremely well on other folks' systems. It's complicated. And I'm afraid i don't know about the ATI etc ones at all. Sorry.

Pete
  • 0

#11 BBQSteve

BBQSteve

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:01 PM

It appeared you got defensive.

Perhaps I can assist you with your problem. God knows I have seen enough with my own issues. Sounds like my ATI problem, no one else has the problem or so say the helpless desk.
  • 0

#12 Pete Dowson

Pete Dowson

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 27,288 posts
  • LocationNear Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:18 PM

It appeared you got defensive.


Really? Not sure how you read that from my words.

Perhaps I can assist you with your problem.


Thanks, but really I've got no problem with the drivers I have now, only with some later ones -- it's related to the overclocking of the video card. The later driver effectively resets all the clock values to nVidia base defaults, not to the overclocking provided (by default) on this card nor my subsequent extra clocking. It's as if it is swtching to "safe" or "overheat" mode. It appears to happen to a small number of folks, not just me, as far as I've found out via a thread on the AVSIM FSX forum.

I'm not worried about it. The drivers I'm sticking with work wonderfully and I get great frame rates and good quality images. It's just that I am used to keeping all my drivers up to date and had to revert this time. I only mentioned it as an example of sometimes needing to chose a different earlier driver rather than the latest to get around a problem.

Regards
Pete
  • 0

#13 BBQSteve

BBQSteve

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:36 PM

A good rule of thumb about updating anything: If you don't have the problem that the update is supposed to fix, you will have a problem if you update. Don't do it unless you do have the problem. IAW, If it ain't broke, don't mess with it. Only took me 38 years of managing 3000 computer systems all over the world.

What board are you using? Curious. Because I wasn't sure a new board was going to fix my problem, I bought a mid-level board EVGA NVIDIA GE Force GTX 550Ti with 2GB of DDR5 RAM. getting better than 60FPS is 2004 with everything on and set to as high as you can go. Full complement of addon scenery, planes and textures. Although in Windows Performance I get a 5.9 on this card and had a 7.3 with the HD4850.
  • 0

#14 Pete Dowson

Pete Dowson

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 27,288 posts
  • LocationNear Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:46 PM

What board are you using?


Zotac Amp2 GTX 580 with 3Gb memory running on an i5-2500 PC watercooled and overclocked to 4.8 GHz.

i use nVidia inspector to set all the graphics settings ideal for FSX, and the frame rate limiter in that program to 30 fps. That gives me very smooth flying everywhere with dipping down to perhaps 20 fps at places like UK2000 Heathrow with full AI traffic and heavy weather. (20 fps in FSX is better than 20 fps in FS9, by the way). I can run frames unlimited but whilst that gives over 100 fps most of the time it makes it much more varied, and the WideFS links to the other 6 PCs involved in driving the cockpit are better with a smooth supply of data.

I've not used FS9 since FSX came out. Far prefer FSX. Might move to Prepar3D if their Version 2 supports DX11 properly.

Regards
Pete
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


About simFlight - simflight.com - simflight.de - simflight.fr - simflight.nl - simflight.pt - simflight.es - simflight.it - simflight.jp - simrussia.com - simMarket