gfd

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • LocationAlberta, Canada

Posted 08 January 2013 - 11:33 AM

Greetings
I have just purchased AI for the first time. I am amazed. Thank you for the excellent product. I have a couple of questions which don't seem obvious in the literature. I probably missed it. I also have a question regarding performance. I am a bit of a newbie (amazing at my age), so I appreciate your patience.

-how do I get the ATC babble on the radio when I'm parked at an airport. As silly as it sounds, sometimes I just park an ultralight on the ground, turn off the engine and watch...don't tell anyone. Now this may be a result of my relative lack of use of ATC in general, but I'd appreciate a shove in the right direction. Also, is it possible to place myself in the control tower at the airport without disrupting the AI. Finally, if that is possible, will MyTraffic sense my location and turn down its volume?

-in the communicator, there is a tab for the type of AI. There are several options, the first one being FS9 & FSX. When I attempt to click on it, it appears that I am getting a textbox which I cannot edit. Should I be able to edit out FS9? As an alternative, I chose 2012.

-I haven't fiddled with the sound level yet, but can I increase the sound of the AI engines on their takeoff roll? Seems a bit quiet.

-I attempted to check the wide screen box in the Aircraft Editor, but it seems not to have taken. When I reopened the dialogue it was unchecked.

-I read somewhere in a post that if one chooses DirectX10 effects exclusively as opposed to both (aircraft?, sounds?, etc?) it leads to better performance. Is that the case? If so, how to I make the adjustment? I also got the impression that I wouldn't have to have the DX10 preview checked in FSX options. Can you comment on that? My machine is DX10/DX11 compliant.