The simFlight Network Forums

Lvar on vb

jul007

Hi Jul,

There is no way of getting L:Vars in VB as far as I know. Certainly you cannot access them via the normal FSUIPC interface.

You can get and set L:Vars with a LUA plugin script. You could monitor the ones you want with an event and when they change write the value to a spare offset. Then your VB application can read them from there. But you'd need to have a Lua script running as well as your application.

If your program is only for your use, you can use the free offsets starting at 0x66C0. If it's for general release (including freeware) it's best to ask Pete to allocate some offsets officially for your application.

I'm no expert in Lua so there may be other ways to transfer these values to your VB program. You may want to ask about this up in the main forum if Pete doesn't see it here.

@Pete: If you do see this is there a better way?

Paul

There is no way of getting L:Vars in VB as far as I know. Certainly you cannot access them via the normal FSUIPC interface.

@Pete: If you do see this is there a better way?

No, only Lua currently provides a method of reading them. The problem with providing access through an offset-based interface is that L:Vars are only identifiable by name, and need requesting via the Gauge interface into FS.  Whilst writing a name as a string into an offset in order to get something done (like load or save a flight or a paln) is okay -- it's an action initiator and requires no reply -- having one which then has to await a response is not so nice. The question which would arise is how is another request, maybe from a different program, going to be handled? Who gets which reply and where? How can they tell?