The simFlight Network Forums

Pete, hope you can maybe shed some light

Hi Pete, Thank You so much for this powerful program. Your accolades are well deserved.

I'm all set on my setup for the MU-2 from Flysimware. Thus far everything is working fine.

Here's my thought and or questions.  I have read the manual and advanced manual twice now. I just feel there is a way I could accomplish my goal.

Caveat: I am not a programmer, so if it involves LUA stuff, most likely that will be it for me, I'll just use what I have setup now.

OK here's the deal. The MU-2 has a TPE331 straight shaft turboprop engine.

The way the FSW MU-2 is working now re sound files.  If you keep the torque around 20-22% it will maintain it's taxi sound.

If you increase torques above that, it shifts to the sound file for takeoff even if still in the ground idle range. Can be a little strange at times.

After reading the manuals, I had the idea of marking on my Saitek quadrant were the ground idle range was on the actual sim MU-2. Then use FSUIPC to limit my max torque with in that range to not above 21% torque.

Then the sound wouldn't shift to the different sound file used for flight idle-takeoff position. Is there a way I could accomplish this to not increase power above 21% torque, as long as I'm in the ground idle range up to the flight idle range on the plane.

I guess also, at some point I would need to do the sync thing as well. It would really add some realism to the plane if possible

Apologies Pete, I can be very verbose at times.

IN a nutshell:

1. when my throttle is in the MU-2 ground idle range both in FSX and the Saitek quadrant, limit max torque to 21%.

2. When the throttle enters the flight idle range, it would allow the takeoff sound file to play

I just have a feeling this would be doable in FSUIPC.

Thanks for any "light" you can shed on the subject.

Best,

David