The simFlight Network Forums

Using SC-Pascal7 with FSUIPC

Hello Peter

I'm a retired electronic engineer, living in Switzerland, since about 50 years a flight enthusiast, but new to this forum. Let me first thank you for all the fantastic work you do for the flight simmer community.

Since about one year I'm building up a B737NG cockpit with material from Opencockpits (pedestal, FMCs, clocks), Hispapanels (MIP,MCP) and Cockpit-for-you (throttle). Everything fits nice mechanically but now I came to the software trying to understand what's going on there. I installed the new PMDG737NGX on Prepar3d_V2.4 working very well on my PC Win7 system.

I went through a lot of descriptions of FSUIPC and made many tests to see if I understand it well. The external systems are IOPC-Server from Opencockpits and sc-pascal7 from Hispapanels. Sc-pascal7 can connect to IOPC-server, but also to FSUIPC directly. Some simple reading of data works nice on both systems. But writing seems to be quite a tricky thing (or impossible?).

My actual task is to control the dimming of six DUs by the lower MIP potentiometers. As first test, I connected one axis (speedbrake) to the brightness control of the captains outer DU, using the axis assignment window of FSUIPC. After some struggles I succeeded. Important to know: when I put in the offset value 69961, it is stored wrong in the fsuipc.ini and I must correct it there (x01001149 to x00011149 resp. 69961). The axis must be put to raw to get values from 0 to 255 being transfered. Then I can control the brightness with the speedbrake lever. The fsuipc console window shows FS controls as soon as the lever is moved:
FS control sent: Ctrl=69961, Param=117