The simFlight Network Forums

Tower!3D new user observations and some stuff I 'fixed' :-)

WildCard

Thought I'd say hi and share a few changes I've made as a complete newbie to ATC. I've only owned the game for about 2 weeks and would have liked to have played it more than I have been able to find time for. :-)

My first impression, was very nice graphics... how come I can't look around (had to reconfigure my centre mouse button, Microsoft defaulted it to the equivalent of Alt-Tab), and... "This is pretty easy"...  Then I changed from TIST to KLAX. Not so easy. ;-)

Now I got to play around a bit, and discovered a few things... Like those jets pulled up quicker than i expected (exiting 25R@G at KLAX) and those turbo props really hit the brakes (exiting 25R@F at KLAX before the deferred threshold).

So, I came to the forum to see if anyone had noticed this sort of behaviour and lo and behold, there was a post saying deferred thresholds were being fixed in a soon to be released Service Pack. And there was much rejoicing. ;-)

And after waiting many moons (about 2 days), SP1a for Pro was released and... the planes still landed before the threshold at KLAX, but TIST was fixed (KPHL doesn't have any). So, after reading some posts that said schedules and planes and such could be modified, I thought I'd have a go fixing some things.

First off, I added a couple of new Speech recognition commands:

#airplane1; RUNWAY ;#runway1; VIA ;#taxiway1;#taxiway2;#taxiway3;#taxiway4;#taxiway5;#taxiway6

#airplane1; PUSHBACK APPROVED EXPECT RUNWAY ;#runway1; VIA ;#taxiway1;#taxiway2;#taxiway3;#taxiway4;#taxiway5;#taxiway6

#airplane1; PUSHBACK APPROVED EXPECT RUNWAY ;#runway1; AT ;#taxiway1

#airplane1; PUSHBACK APPROVED EXPECT RUNWAY ;#runway1; AT ;#taxiway1; VIA ;#taxiway2;#taxiway3;#taxiway4;#taxiway5;#taxiway6