The simFlight Network Forums

Arduino Interface

First, full disclosure, I'm not a programmer.  I am self taught to some degree with C++ (at least the subset of it that Arduino's use), a bit of VB and some basic LUA and VBA.

I've been a long time FSUIPC user but just recently noticed the FSUIPC Client DLL for .NET subforum and it caught my attention.  I need to solve for a problem if I am to make the move to P3DV4 and I'm trying ot figure out of this might be a starting point.

My Cockpit build (A Cessna 172) uses Arduino cards for everyting from my Avionics stack to my wet compass and air speed sensatve vents.  They are at present interfaces to P3D via a discntinued program (Link2FSMulti) that passes many of the P3D offsets to the Arduinos via serial USB as a simple set of text strings (for example air speed might be <T090) that I can read and the Arduino's in return control codes that the app coverts to P3D offsets.  The app allows me to select which offsets I want to pass and to what serial port.  The app is unfortunatley not compatible with the new P3DV4.

As I search for a replacement app I am finding many that allow for some form of I/O between P3D and the Arduino but most do so by loading their own code onto the Arduino that takes over the Arduino and creates an interface that the developer thinks is ideal.  I am finding that most fuction far different or in a few cases fall far short in fuctionality to what I have developed.  As an example they will control the 7 segment displays on radios and allow tuning but they would not allow me to replicate the 32 channel memory that I have coded into my current radios.  So I would have to toss a great deal of my current code in the bit bucket and give up on functionality to use those apps.