The simFlight Network Forums

Keyboard Sequence for sim action in FSX

Hello, 

I'm new at FSUIPC button mapping and programming and wanted to reach out for some help. I would like to create a keyboard sequence (X+1) to toggle on/off beacon lights. How would I go about doing this for FSX:A with a registered version of FSUIPC? I have read through the advanced programming file and couldn't figure it out. I tried to map the button (X+1) on the button press section within fsuipc while fsx was running it would only take X, and not the combo X+1 from the keyboard.

I have also tried to add [KEYS] section in the INI file but couldn't get it to work. I added the line

0=8841,8,66XXX(the number from the FS list for toggle beacon light), but that didn't work either. 

Any help teaching me this stuff will be highly appreciated. 

In that case, is there any tutorial on how to make a lua script for that I'm trying to do? I want to have to have the keyboard key press sequence X+1 to toggle on/off beacon light.

How do I even begin making a lua script? Sorry for all these questions, I'm new at this but I'm willing to learn and figure this out.   

20 hours ago, anchit02 said:

I would like to create a keyboard sequence (X+1) to toggle on/off beacon lights. How would I go about doing this for FSX:A with a registered version of FSUIPC? I have read through the advanced programming file and couldn't figure it out. I tried to map the button (X+1) on the button press section within fsuipc while fsx was running it would only take X, and not the combo X+1 from the keyboard.

What is "X+1"?  Do you mean a sequence, "X", "+", "1"?  What exactly is each keypress supposed to do?

Are these default FS beacon lights?

20 hours ago, anchit02 said:

0=8841,8,66XXX(the number from the FS list for toggle beacon light), but that didn't work either.

Key 8841?  That's a very strange number.  How do you arrive at that? It certainly isn't a valid keycode.

Anyway, the correct format would be