The simFlight Network Forums

Question regarding com.write

ariz

Hi everyone

I am sorry if similar questions has been asked before, but I can't seem to find  a solution yet. I'm quite new to lua and FSUIPC so pardon me for my lack of understanding. I have a question regarding com.write. I'm trying to send data to arduino via the serial communication using com.write function. I have successfully sent data, but I'm having trouble reading the actual data. Here is a snippet of my current code

... Code above here

-- Writer
testString=0
function comWriter(time)
	... Some code here, bypassed

if testString == 200 then testString= "000" else testString=200 end
	com.write(arduino, "*" .. testString)
end

-- Set the timer for the write
event.timer(200, "comWriter")

-- Receiver
function comReceiver(arduino, datastring, length)
	-- Last 2 characters are 0d and 0a (line break and return carriage)
	-- Eliminate these 2 characters
	datastring= datastring(1, length-2)
	-- Check if debugging
	if datastring(1, 5) == "DEBUG" then
	ipc.log(datastring)
	else
	-- Check how long is the identifier
	-- This is the first character
	identifierLength= tonumber(datastring[1])
	-- Seperate identifier and values
	-- identifier is the event ID found in PMDG sdk
	identifier= datastring(2, identifierLength+1)
	value= datastring(identifierLength+2); -- After the ID, up  to end
	-- Call the control for the identifier
	ipc.control(baseID + identifier, value)
	end
end

As you can see, I'm sending either '*200' or '*000' every 200 ms to the arduino. In return the arduino send back 'DEBUG ' plus what it read in bytes. Here's a snippet of the arduino code

if (Serial.available() && Serial.read() == '*')
{
	readSerial();
}

void readSerial()
{
  digitalWrite(6,HIGH);
  byte il[3];
  for (byte i=0; i<3; i++)
  {
    il[i] = Serial.read();
  }
  Serial.print("DEBUG ");
  Serial.print(il[0]);
  Serial.print(il[1]);
  Serial.println(il[2]);
}