The simFlight Network Forums

fsuipc vs netpipes

Hello Peter,

I'm totally new to FSUIPC (and to MSFS also), but I need to build a software to get some information and control some properties of the FS externally. So I've been looking for ways to do it.

I've found that FSUIPC lets me do everything I need, but I've found also that I can do it with the official NetPipes SDK (or that's what I understood from the documentation, as I did no test yet). So I don't know which one to use... May I ask you to compare them? Would you highlight the points where you think FSUIPC is better? (and the opposite too, if it's not too much to ask :)).

Some additional comments:

- Which do you think is faster? (the NetPipes SDK uses named-pipes as a medium to exchange information, I don't know if they are fast enough).

- I believe that FSUIPC was developed by reverse engineering some MSFS internal structures. While that alone speaks volumes about your capacity, it concerns me about it's safety and/or future compatibility. How trustable is FSUIPC? I know FSUIPC is used by many MSFS addons, so I guess this question answers itself, but anyway I would like to know your toughts.

- For this projects I'm interested in FS2004 only, so compatibility with previous versions is not a plus for me.

Thanks in advance for any comment.

I've found that FSUIPC lets me do everything I need, but I've found also that I can do it with the official NetPipes SDK (or that's what I understood from the documentation, as I did no test yet). So I don't know which one to use... May I ask you to compare them?

Sorry, I've never used NetPipes. There wasn't any such thing around when the IPC interface was first invented.

How trustable is FSUIPC?