The simFlight Network Forums

8 questions from a newbie

CowlFlapsOpen

Hi all. Forgive me but I am completely new to traffic add-ons. Just purchased MT 2006. I have read the manual and browsed this forum but still seem overwhelmed. I think I am having a hard time seeing the forest for the trees. Tthe manual seems to presuppose a lot of understanding I just don't have. Anyways, some starter questions:

1. The web site of my favorite regional airport gives the flights in and out by carrier etc. The are only a couple of dozen. Can I implement these? How? and what happens to the ficitonal flights to and from this airport that are already built into MT 2006? Can I eliminate all but the GA ones? If I add these by creating some sort of new database, what happens to rest of my traffic at other airports?

2. I have added a couple of AFCADs along with freeware airport scenery. the gates all appear to be there with the designer's designations for parking. is that all there is? Does MT 2006 start using these gates/parking? Am I supposeto do something like export the airports with TTools (whatever it is called) and import the airports.txt? if so, do i then need to do something else like regenerate schedules etc..

3. As it happens, some of my favorite airports do not have AFCADs supplied by MT 2006. Can i just use swordy's AFCAD2 to add the parking designations? Do i need to adjust flight plans, schedules, or something?

4. If I go through an airport and add parking assignments to all the parking, what happens when a GA aircraft arrives that isn't part of an airline (including myself)?

5. Some AFCADs have 1-2 parking slots that have no parking airline code but the rest are assigned. Can aircraft that are part of an airline park at these (generic) spots?

6. I am still confused about the heirachy of series, category, type, N-number etc. Ackkk!

7. Do I need to do something with a VoicePackEdit.exe (?) after installing? or is that for power users? What is up with that?