The simFlight Network Forums

FSUIPC on LabVIEW

Has anyone ever managed to call FSUIPC via LabVIEW?

This should generally be possible via the "Call Library Function Node" however VIs including the FSUIPC_Open(), FSUIPC_Readroutines are needed.

One day I want to have my own, fully functional Cockpit, but since I'm a graphical programmer, the first step would be to learn how to access FSUIPC via LabView.

Has anyone ever managed to call FSUIPC via LabVIEW?

This should generally be possible via the "Call Library Function Node" however VIs including the FSUIPC_Open(), FSUIPC_Readroutines are needed.

I've not heard of LabVIEW (now "VIs"), but FSUIPC.DLL is not a library which you can call from application programs. It is very specifically an FS module, effectively becoming part of FS once installed. If does not export any FSUIPC_ functions, as these are not usable by FS.

There is a C library (a .LIB file) which I provide in the SDK. That can be linked into application programs and it does contain the FSUIPC_Open, Read and Write routines which you would need to call. However, if LabVIEW needs to call routines in DLLs then you would have to make the normally statically-bound library into a DLL first. The source is actually provided in the SDK as well, so this is entirely possible.

Regards,

Pete

Hi Pete,

LabVIEW is a graphical programming language from National Instruments, a VI is a file containing the code. It is mainly used for test stands and automation of technical processes.

Thanks for the hint, I will try it and post my efforts here.

Greetings

Hexley

• 2 weeks later...

Hi,

We are trying the same thing.

Using Data Aquisition Hardware (DAQ) from National Instruments we are trying to find a way to pass the voltage values to FSUIPC, directly if possible. If not using Visual Basic.

However we do not have sufficient knowledge of LabView to know how we can pass the voltage values to visual basic.