The simFlight Network Forums

Absolute Newbie Questions

CTyankee

I just purchased and installed MyTraffic 2004 Version 4.1 from SimMarket as part of the MyTraffic X bundle.

Two issues (for now).

1. The program appeared to install OK and seems to be functioning properly. However I don't see it in my personal Start menu or in the Settings-->Add/Remove list. I have Windows XP Pro, SP2. Anything wrong?

2. I live near KHPN, which is a heavilly GA-populated airport, with relatively few airline flights, mostly turboprops and regional jets. Yet with MT I see no general aircraft at all, even with the traffic slider at 100%, just 6 or 7 airliners. How can I introduce GA activity at this airport?

Please advise,

Sandy

MyTraffic does not put anything (but the MyTraffic Communicator) into the start menu. It contains no uninstaller, since addons to FS9 or FSX cannot be installed without severe damage.

To the airport, the thing that I would recommend is that in MyTraffic Editor ( start from the start menu ) you either

go to manage airlines," General Aviations", in the lower field select a type ( Cessna, Piper, what you like), press schedule, let them fly from KHPN to another not too far airport, press OK - adn one Piper or Cessna wwill fly to and back, up to 8 times per day.

Doing so 5 times will add 40 GA flights per day. Once this is done, press "Create all flights and traffic", and you will have some small aircraft.

Or:

You create a new airline "AeroClub KHPN", with Hub KHPN, country N.

You create a few new types, with this airlines, using titles that you can find in the GA types. Have a look which types are there, add those.

Each of these types you give a few registries, why don't you use some you find out there.