The simFlight Network Forums

Fiddling with buttons & Offset conditions

Dear Pete, hi everyone

A few days ago I had this idea to simulate something like "ground effect" by using ambient wind at offset 3478. I then assigned a key via the keys page in FSUIPC and then added an offset condition in the ini file (i.e. only add ground effect a few feet above the runway). Something like this:

[buttons]

0=D31E4<400000 R0,27,K85,8

[Keys]

0=85,8,x7C003478,x00000352

It worked like a charm, but I decided to use a flag and a virtual button, like this:

[buttons]

0=P0,1,C1003,2565

1=D31E4<400000 H10,5,K85,8

[Keys]

which unfortunately doesn't work anymore. Obviously I make a mistake here but I have no clue how to work around this. Is there another way to do this, I do not want to assign a button just to "switch on" the ground effect? I'm not a programmer otherwise its much easier to write a program for this I assume :?

Chris

A few days ago I had this idea to simulate something like "ground effect" by using ambient wind at offset 3478. I then assigned a key via the keys page in FSUIPC and then added an offset condition in the ini file (i.e. only add ground effect a few feet above the runway). Something like this:

[buttons]

0=D31E4<400000 R0,27,K85,8

[Keys]

I don't understand this really. What is button 27? When is it pressed? And then why you have the button send a key which sends a control. Why not have the control programmed on the button instead of the keypress?

It worked like a charm, but I decided to use a flag and a virtual button, like this:

[buttons]

0=P0,1,C1003,2565

1=D31E4<400000 H10,5,K85,8

[Keys]

The Flags are only used in Conditions, they don't represent the real setting of a switch for the prime operation. flags are referenced via the "F" letter in the Condition parentheses.

I really don't understand exactly how you are tring to do this thing. What is your method of operating this facility?