Jump to content
The simFlight Network Forums
Sign in to follow this  
sourwop

FSX Win7 64 Client set up problems FlightSim Commander

Recommended Posts

Hello

This is a copy of the post i submited on the FScom sight and with further guidence I have made it over here. I dont know whats going on but I am sure I am missing something, please dont tell me to read the manuals, forums, help files for I have been doing this for the past three days and still I have the same issue.

Edit postReport this postReply with quoteFSX/ACCEL Win7 64 GPS connect Dual Computers Problems

by sourwop on Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:55 am

Installed all programs as admin on both computers, UAC turned off. Forgot to add that part.

Well to start off I have to say that I like the option to mess with before I buy because that's what I have been doing for two days now. My problem is I keep getting the error message 14.This is a set up for multiple PC 1+2:

PC1 Windows 7 64 ultimate With FSX

PC2 Windows 7 64 ultimate With FlightSim Commander and Wide

FSX with Acceleration installed on the C: drive not in programs folder but in a folder labeled (x86)\Microsoft Games\FSX. It has to be installed on the x86 side of the OS. There are no additional add-ons except for the FSUIPC/WIDE

PC2- has FlighSim Commander installed Version 8.6 Build 200210 Unregistered Version Z

FSUIPC with the following data from the program "UIPCHello" saying it's ok

FSYETANOTHER

FSUIPC 4.570

FS Clock 01:56:37 and counting

Registered version with Wide installed and also registered. One that came with FSUIPC for FSX and Wide downloaded and installed separately on PC-2 with FlightSim Commander.

The drives have been shared, and mapped IAW instructions that have absolutely nothing to do with Windows 7 64 but I managed to figure most of it out.

By the way FlightSim Commander works just fine on PC1 with FSX.

Data base manger works just fine on PC-2 that is mapped to PC-1 and shared, finding the scenerycfg.fsc and loading it up no problems there. But when I boot up FlightSim Commander and it does its thing then I hit the GPS button and connect to FS, nothing, WIDE is also installed on PC-2, and turned on, if it's not turned on I get another message saying "Unable to connect to flight Simulatormsgf#2 FS not running or cannot link to FSUIPC or Wide Client" I turn wide back on and MSG 14 returns. There is not activity on the FSX Menu bar It says " Microsoft Flight Simulator X with Wide Server: waiting for clients" and never changes. I have searched the forums for answers but none are really clear or refer to Pete Dowson's site which end up even more confusing.

Apparently there are those out there running FSX and FlightSim Commander on two PC's with Windows 7 64, what is the trick or fix. Im also networked with Lynksys router with updated firmware. And there is no problem communicating back and forth between both PC's both are networked on Homegroup.

Sure would like to get this working and even buy it if it does work in the two pc configuration.

Regardssourwop

Posts: 2

Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:46 am

Private messageE-mail

Wide client log

******** WideClient Log [version 6.78] Class=FS98MAIN *********

Date (dmy): 27/02/10, Time 01:52:44.490: Client name is TODD1-PC

219 Attempting to connect now

265 Trying TCP/IP host "FLIGHTSIM" port 8002 ...

265Okay, IP Address = 204.194.233.140

1451 Error on client pre-Connection Select() [Error=10061] Connection refused

1451 Ready to try connection again

2512 Attempting to connect now

59156 New Client Application: "FSC86" (Id=3944)

61964 Trying TCP/IP host "FLIGHTSIM" port 8002 ...

61964Okay, IP Address = 204.194.233.140

123584 Trying TCP/IP host "FLIGHTSIM" port 8002 ...

123584Okay, IP Address = 204.194.233.140

137671 ****** End of session performance summary ******

137671 Total time connected = 0 seconds

137671 Reception maximum: 0 frames/sec, 0 bytes/sec

137671 Transmission maximum: 0 frames/sec, 0 bytes/sec

137671 Max receive buffer = 0, Max send depth = 0, Send frames lost = 0

137671 **************** Individual client application activity ****************

137671 Client 3944 requests: 5 (Ave 5/sec), Data: 270 bytes (270/sec), Average 54 bytes/Process

137671 ********* Log file closed (Buffers: MaxUsed 1, Alloc 5 Freed 5 Refused 0) *****

Wide client0 log

********* WideClient Log [version 6.78] Class=FS98MAIN *********

Date (dmy): 27/02/10, Time 01:51:16.982: Client name is TODD1-PC

202 Attempting to connect now

265 Trying TCP/IP host "FLIGHTSIM" port 8002 ...

265Okay, IP Address = 204.194.233.140

1466 Error on client pre-Connection Select() [Error=10061] Connection refused

1482 Ready to try connection again

2496 Attempting to connect now

42978 New Client Application: "FSC86" (Id=1400)

54241 ****** End of session performance summary ******

54241 Total time connected = 0 seconds

54241 Reception maximum: 0 frames/sec, 0 bytes/sec

54241 Transmission maximum: 0 frames/sec, 0 bytes/sec

54241 Max receive buffer = 0, Max send depth = 0, Send frames lost = 0

54241 **************** Individual client application activity ****************

54241 Client 1400 requests: 5 (Ave 5/sec), Data: 270 bytes (270/sec), Average 54 bytes/Process

54241 ********* Log file closed (Buffers: MaxUsed 1, Alloc 5 Freed 5 Refused 0) *********

; PLEASE SEE WideFS documentation for parameter details

; =====================================================

[Config]

ServerName=FLIGHTSIM

Protocol=TCP

Port=8002

Window=32000,32000,160,38

Visible=Yes

ButtonScanInterval=20

ClassInstance=0

NetworkTiming=5,1

MailslotTiming=2000,1000

PollInterval=2000

Port2=9002

ResponseTime=18

ApplicationDelay=0

TCPcoalesce=No

WaitForNewData=500

MaxSendQ=100

OnMaxSendQ=Log

NewSendScanTime=50

Priority=3,1,2

; -----------------------------------------------

[user]

Log=Errors+

Log files from Server PC1 FSuipc

********* WideServer.DLL Log [version 7.57] *********

Blocksize guide = 4096 (double allowed)

Date (dmy): 27/02/10, Time 01:06:40.498: Server name is TODD-PC

15709 Initialising TCP/IP server

15709 Initialising IPX/SPX server

15709 IPX/SPX socket() failed [Error=10044] Socket type not supported

15724 Failed to start IPX/SPX Server

15724 Initialising UDP/IP server

16130 Broadcasting service every 1000 mSecs

4241152 Closing down now ...

Memory managed: Offset records: 1894 alloc, 1893 free

Read buffer usage: 0 alloc, 0 free, max in session: 0

Write buffer usage: 0 alloc, 0 free, max in session: 0

Throughput maximum achieved: 0 frames/sec, 0 bytes/sec

Throughput average achieved for complete session: 0 frames/sec, 0 bytes/sec

********* Log file closed *********

********* WideServer.DLL Log [version 7.57] *********

Blocksize guide = 4096 (double allowed)

Date (dmy): 26/02/10, Time 21:38:02.118: Server name is TODD-PC

15912 Initialising TCP/IP server

15912 Initialising IPX/SPX server

15912 IPX/SPX socket() failed [Error=10044] Socket type not supported

15912 Failed to start IPX/SPX Server

15912 Initialising UDP/IP server

16131 Broadcasting service every 1000 mSecs

********* FSUIPC4, Version 4.57 by Pete Dowson *********

Reading options from "C:\(x86)\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Modules\FSUIPC4.ini"

Trying to connect to SimConnect Acc/SP2 Oct07 ...

User Name="Todd Downey"

User Addr="sourwop@earthlink.net"

FSUIPC4 Key is provided

WideFS7 Key is provided

Running inside FSX on Windows 7 (using SimConnect Acc/SP2 Oct07)

Module base=61000000

Wind smoothing fix is fully installed

DebugStatus=255

125 System time = 27/02/2010 01:06:03

125 FLT UNC path = "\\TODD-PC\Users\Todd\Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\"

125 FS UNC path = "\\TODD-PC\(x86)\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\"

952 LogOptions=00000000 00000001

952 SimConnect_Open succeeded: waiting to check version okay

4665 Running in "Microsoft Flight Simulator X", Version: 10.0.61637.0 (SimConnect: 10.0.61259.0)

4665 Initialising SimConnect data requests now

4665 FSUIPC Menu entry added

4727 \\TODD-PC\(x86)\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\FLIGHTS\OTHER\FLTSIM.FLT

4727 \\TODD-PC\(x86)\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\SimObjects\Airplanes\Aircreation_582SL\Aircreation_582SL.AIR

38065 System time = 27/02/2010 01:06:41, Simulator time = 01:06:07 (09:06Z)

38080 Aircraft="Aircreation582SL red"

38548 Advanced Weather Interface Enabled

2856285 Sim stopped: average frame rate for last 2819 secs = 24.0 fps

4272649 Sim stopped: average frame rate for last 1394 secs = 45.9 fps

4279872 System time = 27/02/2010 02:17:22, Simulator time = 01:07:21 (09:07Z)

4279872 *** FSUIPC log file being closed

Average frame rate for running time of 4213 secs = 31.3 fps

Memory managed: 1894 Allocs, 1894 Freed

********* FSUIPC Log file closed ***********

I appreciate any guidence to get this working.

Regards Todd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well to start off I have to say that I like the option to mess with before I buy because that's what I have been doing for two days now. My problem is I keep getting the error message 14.

I assume "error message 14" is from FS Commander? What does it mean? I don't have FS Commander and don't know it at all.

FSX with Acceleration installed on the C: drive not in programs folder but in a folder labeled (x86)\Microsoft Games\FSX. It has to be installed on the x86 side of the OS.

You created a folder called "(x86)"? Are you sure you don't mean the Windows folder "Program Files (x86)", which is the default installation place for 32-bit programs on a 64-bit version of Windows. It is, like Program Files on both 32- and 64-bit versions, still protected by Windows against normal user changes.

The drives have been shared, and mapped IAW instructions that have absolutely nothing to do with Windows 7 64 but I managed to figure most of it out.

I've no idea what "IAW" means, but even sharing "drives" won't allow programs full access to program files unless they are run with elevated administrator privileges. It is a problem with letting FS install into Program Files folders.

By the way FlightSim Commander works just fine on PC1 with FSX.

Ok, that's good then. Are you running both FSX and FSCommander with "run as administrator" set, or does it work fine without needing that? If so, then FSCommander does have the file access it needs.

Data base manger works just fine on PC-2 that is mapped to PC-1 and shared, finding the scenerycfg.fsc and loading it up no problems there. But when I boot up FlightSim Commander and it does its thing then I hit the GPS button and connect to FS, nothing, WIDE is also installed on PC-2, and turned on, if it's not turned on I get another message saying "Unable to connect to flight Simulatormsgf#2 FS not running or cannot link to FSUIPC or Wide Client" I turn wide back on and MSG 14 returns. There is not activity on the FSX Menu bar It says " Microsoft Flight Simulator X with Wide Server: waiting for clients" and never changes

If it never connects then that is certainly a problem -- though whether that gives your "message 14" I've no idea. It is a pity it isn't documented, if it isn't as you imply.

Your Wideclient log shows:

265 Trying TCP/IP host "FLIGHTSIM" port 8002 ...

265Okay, IP Address = 204.194.233.140

1451 Error on client pre-Connection Select() [Error=10061] Connection refused

which isn't good. That IP address looks completely wrong to me. It looks like an Internet address, not a local Network address. It Googled it and the 204.194 group seems to be pre-allocated to a number of commercial concerns, with yours in this one:

204.194.232.0 - 204.194.239.0 Med-E-Systems Corporation (NETBLK-MEDENET)

and a WhoIs I found via Google gives:

204.194.233.140 server location:

San Francisco in United States

204.194.233.140 ISP:

302 Direct Media LLC

In your Wideclient.INI file you've set the ServerName and Protocol parameters:

[Config]

ServerName=FLIGHTSIM

Protocol=TCP

Why? Didn't you first try without, as it comes? Provided both PC's have the same workgroup name it should connect automatically. It seems that your Windows or Router setup is somehow translating the name "FLIGHTSIM" into the IP address of "Direct Media LLC"?!

Find your real FS PC's IP address on your network and try replacing the ServerName=line with "ServerIPAddr=nnn.nnn.nnn.nnn where the nnn's are replaced by the correct values.

Regards

Pete

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Pete

Thank you for getting back with me so quick, yes it is error message 14 generated by FScommander, as far as the IP that kind of made me laugh becuase I am in Texas and the only thing I can think of is maybe that is the dynamic or static ip generated by host ISP? I am using a new router DLink model DIR-655. The entry in the wide.ini file "FLIGHTSIM" is the server in homegroup i set up for both computers, which was one of the steps I followed in the manual for setting up Wide, I had the same result, with no entry. It was very good to find out that the IP address it was tring to connect to has nothing to do with me, very weird, I will make the changes and report back my findings. I will deinstall flight sim commander and install it on the second drive, which I had done before with the same results, I did not know that installing it out side of the(x86) program files folder int o a folder (x86) that i generated ended up with the same result as if I installed into the program files. Nothing like this is provided with the information or documentation that comes with FScommander, there is very little directed towards win7 64 users but you have opened my eyes to a couple of ideas, Yes, everything was installed and run as "asminstrator". Thank you again for taking the time.

Regards

Todd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pete

Still no go I deinstalled, re-installed fscommander with widefs into the other drive, Wide is installed to the same folder as fscommander, installed all as adminstator, loacted the correct IP address entered it into the .ini file, same result "Unable to connect to Flight Simulator Msg 14" I also looked up the router information pulled the Primary DNS, secondary DNS, submask, gate way and MAC address, verified the IP was the same, and tried the DNS and submask. Still no go I was experimenting more or less and maybe the chances on hitting the right one but all with same result, FSX was up and running on other computer and there was no indication any connection was made. By the way IAW means "in accordance with".

Regards

Todd

; PLEASE SEE WideFS documentation for parameter details

; =====================================================

[Config]

ServerIPAddr=64.91.218.129

Protocol=TCP

Port=8002

Window=-32000,-32000,160,27

Visible=Yes

ButtonScanInterval=20

ClassInstance=0

NetworkTiming=5,1

MailslotTiming=2000,1000

PollInterval=2000

Port2=9002

ResponseTime=18

ApplicationDelay=0

TCPcoalesce=No

WaitForNewData=500

MaxSendQ=100

OnMaxSendQ=Log

NewSendScanTime=50

Priority=3,1,2

; -----------------------------------------------

[user]

Log=Errors+

********* WideClient Log [version 6.78] Class=FS98MAIN *********

Date (dmy): 27/02/10, Time 15:49:17.666: Client name is TODD1-PC

218 Attempting to connect now

218 Trying TCP/IP addr 64.91.218.129, port 8002 ...

1295 Error on client pre-Connection Select() [Error=10061] Connection refused

1295 Ready to try connection again

2324 Attempting to connect now

7535 New Client Application: "FSC86" (Id=688)

60575 Trying TCP/IP addr 64.91.218.129, port 8002 ...

********* WideClient Log [version 6.78] Class=FS98MAIN *********

Date (dmy): 27/02/10, Time 15:48:10.741: Client name is TODD1-PC

234 Attempting to connect now

234 Trying TCP/IP addr 64.91.218.129, port 8002 ...

1279 Error on client pre-Connection Select() [Error=10061] Connection refused

1279 Ready to try connection again

2324 Attempting to connect now

35911 New Client Application: "FSC86" (Id=688)

60590 Trying TCP/IP addr 64.91.218.129, port 8002 ...

62774 ****** End of session performance summary ******

62774 Total time connected = 0 seconds

62774 Reception maximum: 0 frames/sec, 0 bytes/sec

62774 Transmission maximum: 0 frames/sec, 0 bytes/sec

62774 Max receive buffer = 0, Max send depth = 0, Send frames lost = 0

62774 **************** Individual client application activity ****************

62774 Client 688 requests: 15 (Ave 15/sec), Data: 810 bytes (810/sec), Average 54 bytes/Process

62774 ********* Log file closed (Buffers: MaxUsed 1, Alloc 15 Freed 15 Refused 0) *********

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I also looked up the router information pulled the Primary DNS, secondary DNS, submask, gate way and MAC address, verified the IP was the same, and tried the DNS and submask. Still no go

I'm not surprised. You need the IP address of your FS PC, not any of that stuff. That is all to do with Internet access. You are NOT trying to connect WideFS via the Internet! You certainly don't want to do that!

I repeat, you need your LOCAL IP ADDRESS for your own PC, not the IP address of your router, nor the IP address used by your Internet provider to talk to you!

I don't know how you got into this mess, but something is really set up wrong somewhere for Windows to convert your FS PC's name into some Internet address belonging to someone else in the first place. I've absolutely no idea how that can happen, but I am equally positive that if you can override that with your correct FS PC IP address you will overcome it.

BTW did you ever even try to make the Workgroup names the same on the two PCs? That should have been far easier!

ServerIPAddr=64.91.218.129

That address is also an Internet IP address. It is part of the range owned by:

OrgName:    EARTHLINK, INC. 
OrgID:      EARTH-22
Address:    1375 PEACHTREE STREET
Address:    LEVEL A
City:       ATLANTA
StateProv:  GA
PostalCode: 30309
Country:    US

NetRange:   64.91.128.0 - 64.91.223.255

Try using "ipconfig" on your FS PC. Go into a DOS window (at Start, enter "command" and hit return, then at the prompt enter "ipconfig" and hit return. You'll get something like this (which is from the PC I'm using to type this):

C:\>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.202

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.54

C:\>

This tells me the IP address, on my local network, of this PC is 192.168.0.202.

Regards

Pete

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

By the grace of god and all this is holy to the flight sim world it works, I tell you what this is has been a great learning experience and I cant thank you enough for the assitance. Im logged in but will see from there just how bad I can really screw things up. Many thanks for the help.

Regards

Todd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use. Guidelines Privacy Policy We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.