The simFlight Network Forums

Newbie With General Questions

bonanzabucks

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the Flight Simulator world and I'm pretty hooked. Obviously, I know the basics of flying and everything, but I have some questions with AI traffic and airport operations. Let me start off saying that I have the following: FSX Deluxe Edition, My Traffic 2010 and Airport Design Editor.

My questions are as follows:

1. How do you assign runways for AI traffic (like which ones for take-offs and which for landings)? Can you do it with Airport Design Editor? I know AI traffic is dictated by wind direction, but can you do something to overrun that with Airport Design Editor or anything else?

2. Can you have simultaneous operations on intersecting runways? For instance with LGA, I want to assign runway 22 for landings and 31 for take-offs as happens in real life. I know through Airport Design Editor that runway 31 is listed as 6995 feet long, but I changed it to 7001 feet long. But anyways, would there be a way to have simultaneous operations for airports that actually use intersecting runways like ORD, LGA and a few others?

3. Can you change the airport capacity and if so, how? In My Traffic, when you open the Airport Editor option, it lists the capacity. Can that be increased or decreased any way? For instance, if I edited an airport by adding more runways or whatnot, would that affect the capacity in any way? Or is there another way to do it without editing the airport?

4. Can I edit an airport by making it so I would use a partial runway for take-off or landing? An example would be using about 10,000 feet of JFK's 31L/13R runway which actually about 14,000 feet long. If so, how can that be done? And if I did that, could I make it to use "intersecting" operations (eg. Use the 4's or 22's at JFK for landings and the 31's for take-offs or whatever configuration they normally use at ORD) after the editing?