The simFlight Network Forums

Use of FSUIPC for computer science real time systems researh

Do you think that my idea is do-able?  

3 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to ask this question to all you experienced FSUIPC developers before I get too far into my project to get your opinions and thoughts. I've been a huge flight simulator user for years but I've never developed anything for it. Now it seems like I may be able to combine my hobby with some of my research.

I am a graduate student in computer science and the university of victoria. I am currently studying real time systems and for my final project I would like to do something pretty cool using Flight Simulator and FSUIPC.

What I need to do is to take the RTOS (real time operating system) I've created for my course and put it into an applicaiton.

I'd like to get my RTOS to be a flight controller for a simulated plane in flight simulator. What I'm wanting to do is to run an older version of flight sim (98 or 2000, could use 2002 or 04 if anyone thinks its easier to develop for) and using FSUIPC to take some data from flight sim (such as aircraft orientation, airspeed, altitude etc), transmit it over TCP/IP to another computer (the one containing my RTOS) The different values read from flight sim would be like data from real sensors on a real aircraft. My RTOS will then act like a flight controller and decide which flight surfaces need movement (ie to keep level flight or do a turn etc.) and my RTOS will send those commands back to the FS computer via TCP/IP and FSUIPC will send those commends into flight sim to controll the aircraft.