The simFlight Network Forums

Replacing FSX.Cfg will it add the line back?

peebee

Yes, it does, but by repalcing FSX.cfg you mess up everything. Maintaining FSX.cfg is a part of the paperwork you have to with with every change to FSX.

The communicator just looks if there is a string MyTraffic\aircraft - in all possibel ways to write it. If this does not exist, it allows to add.

Thanks for your quick reply Burkhard. When you say will mess everything up.... Can you explain that please I keep a backup of my custom FSX.Cfg if I start getting errors or CTDs I remove the old config and copy in my backup accept all the gauges ect and its good as new. My concern was My Traffic may not like this. I must say its usually a last resort that I replace the config.

Peebee

I have no experience about gauges, it may be that there are buggy gauges which cause crashes, and by removing them from FSX.cfg you de facto disable them.

Problem now is that your FSX.cfg reflects you installation - so if you just exchange it and do not make the same changes on your disk things no longer fit together, and you may refer to things which should not be referred to. This is what I called a mess.

Hi Burkhard, I'm sorry accepting the gauges may be misleading. What I mean't was when you install 3rd party aircraft from Pmdg, Cap Sim ect or add on scenery from Orbx ect the first time you run Fsx it will come up with a box asking you if you want to run the new add on's yes/no, when I replace my FSX.Cfg all these pop up again because as you say the config at this stage thinks they are all new installations and you have to go through the first startup routine again.

Peebee

I would never allow any third party to modify my FSX.cfg, but that is my private opinion. Some do it properly, and the others are the reason you have to go back to start I assume.