The simFlight Network Forums

Hi Pete,

First, big thanks for making FSUIPC happens. I don’t know if it will work for me, but you have created a whole community around your idea.. great work.

I am building myself a second FS panel based on “glass” cockpit and was wondering if FSUIPC can be part of my solution. My first panel was based on Saitek, which worked and i am still using it.

My setup will be based on Desktop Aviator (or similar) SUPER Rotary Encoder Board and switches, a 15” laptop screen (in addition to main display) and two windows 7 PC (server and client config).

My questions are as follows: (just looking for a Yes or No at this stage)

1. Can FSUIPC be used to control switches like “Map Range Zoom”, “MFD display”, “Transponder” mode control, “GPS rotary” controls? And what experience is required to map this to FSX? I am not a programmer, but i can easily understand and modify XML files.
  2. Does FSUIPC allow me to have all those switches connected to “client” PC?, and what impact will this have on processing if connected to main PC?. I know it is not possible to answer this questions as there are many variables... i am just looking for ball park. eg. Yeah, it will slow your FSX or No, it is not relevant.
  3. Does FSUIPC allow me to display aeroplane gauges via the “client” PC on a second monitor?? And is the lag time an issue??
  4. Can FSUIPC handle displays for Autopilot items such (HDG, CRS, Altitude, VS, etc), and what display hardware do you recommend. I am looking for yellow displays?
  5. Finally, which hardware “USB boards” company (website) do you recommend to control all these switches? And is there noticeable difference between the different solutions?

Many thanks and l look forward to start flying simulated jets..

Best regards

Can FSUIPC be used to control switches like “Map Range Zoom”, “MFD display”, “Transponder” mode control, “GPS rotary” controls?