The simFlight Network Forums

Complete newbie questions (apologies in advance!)

Before I get to my actual questions, please allow me to explain what I am trying to acheive:

• I am a student pilot in real life and plan on using my Google Nexus 7 tablet, with the Garmin Pilot application (GPS-enabled sectional charts software) in the plane.
  • At home, I have Microsoft Flight Simulator X Gold Edition (which is basically the Deluxe + Acceleration pack) running on a Windows 7 64-bit machine. My PC does have a bluetooth connection/option.
  • What I'd like to do is use the Garmin Pilot on my Nexus tablet with FSX on my PC via a Bluetooth connection.
  • So in other words, as I fly around in a Cessna 172 in FSX, the PC (connected to my Nexus tablet via BT) feeds GPS coordinates to the Garmin Pilot software on the tablet. This would not only allow me to completely familiarize myself with my tablet, but will allow me to test different functions in a simulator instead of wasting precious time in the real cockpit.

The issue I am facing is as follows:

1. I have been successfully running FSX on my PC.
  2. Today I installed FSUIPC 4853 via the installer file run as admin. The log, at the end of the installation, said that all went well.
  3. I hit "Cancel" on the registration part after the install; wanted to see the features of the add-on first before paying for a license.
  4. I tried running FSX, message box popped up asking if I trusted the source, I said "Always trust" and moved on.
  5. The FSX loading screen then just sat there with the cusor going round in circles.
  6. Killed FSX via taskmgr, restarted. This time no "Trust?" message box but again, the FSX loading screen just sits there.
  7. Put in the FSUIPC4_Loader.dll in the prescribed folder, re-ran the install.
  8. Again, same results when I try to start up FSX.

My questions for you: