The simFlight Network Forums

Some newbie questions

rfresh

I'm new to using your great .DLL - thanks for writing it.

I'm using VS 2013 Express C#.

I have installed FSUIPC and it registered OK with FSX when I started FSX up.

I started with you sample code from your userGuide:

try
            {
                FSUIPCConnection.Open();
            }
            catch (Exception ex)
            {
                MessageBox.Show(ex.Message, "FSX Connetion Error", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Error);
            }

My questions are:

(1) When I run this code I get the MsgBox display inside my VS 2013 IDE. I am not sure if I have to run FSUIPC on its own or if that happens when I start up FSX?

(2) I couldn't see a way to run FSUIPC by itself so I guess I have to be running FSX to get it loaded and running, right?

(3) How does one get FSX to sleep? When I have FSX running, my VS 2013 IDE doesn't respond very well. Is this the way the development cycle works: you have FSX running and your VS IDE? How do you test your C# code changes in FSX if the IDE isn't responsive? It's like FSX is hogging all the resources. I'm not sure how the dev cycle is supposed to work.

Thanks for any help to get me on my way...

Hi Ralph,

1) FSUIPC should be loaded by FSX. If the FSUIPC menu is in the 'Addons' menu in FSX then it's running and the DLL should connect. If you continue to have problems connecting then the text in the message box might help diagnose the problem.

2) Yes, FSX (or WideClient.exe) needs to be running on the same machine.

3) If your PC/Laptop is fast enough and has enough memory it shouldn't be a problem running VS and FSX at the same time. My development laptop is an i7 running at 1.6 ghz and has 8gb of memory and runs both at the same time with no problem (although I have set FSX to low settings - see next paragraph). If your computer doesn't have much memory or has a slow processor then that could be the cause of your problems.