The simFlight Network Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Joned

Including a hold pattern in a flight plan (answered & solved)

I have just downloaded FSC 9 including Database Manager 9.6 from Aerosoft ,and using FSX. I hope that's enough information for you.

Wow, what a brilliant product !

I'm sure its because I'm new to this software, but I did a search and can't find the answer, so here goes......

I want to add (include) a holding pattern to a flight plan to make it the same as the published chart. I created the hold circuit correctly and selected the appropriate VOR to be used as the fix. I selected 'add to map' which it did correctly. It shows clearly on the map view as a holding pattern within the flight plan.

The VOR name remains in the flight plan panel as original without the holding pattern detail (this may be correct I don't know). However, when the flight plan is saved FSX does not contain the holding pattern. I have experimented with other 'fixes' for the hold but still no holding pattern when saved to FSX.

Can you please explain what I'm doing wrong.

Regards and thanks for a great product.

Joned

Hi Joned,

As in real life, the "HOLDING" is never part of a flight plan.

The "Holding" shows only the postion and size, as orientation, on the map.

Volker

Thank you Volker. That's a shame as there are so may plates out there that require precision approaches etc that require a holding pattern, especially when flying a missed approach. So if a plate/chart specifies a holding pattern at a certain 'fix' it's up to the Sim pilot to workout it's position and entry point with no visual guidance from the loaded flight planner in FSC. Seems a bit precarious !

I suppose (though I haven't tried it yet) one could 'create' a holding pattern in FSX flight planner using 4 wave points, but it seems a bit crude.

Also, what's the point in having the facility in FSC to create a 'holding pattern' if it cannot be exported ? I think I'm definitely missing something here.