The simFlight Network Forums

T3D LAX Runway Configuration

Alcahuete

Hi all,

Maybe I'm missing it, but I have 2 questions.

1)  Is it possible to change the landing runway for arriving aircraft?

2)  I have seen people on the forum talk about 25L and 24R.  I'm using Real Traffic/Real Color and all the aircraft land on the inboard runways, which is completely contrary to how things are run in the real world.  Yes, there are times when all 4 runways are used for arrivals, but generally speaking, it's 25L and 24R.  I have yet to have a single airplane land on either of those runways by default.  Am I missing something, or is this by design?

Hi  Alcahuete,

I am new to this simulation and there are plenty on this forum with more expertise but I think I have the answers to your questions.

There are 2 methods. Firstly, om the Main Menu screen you can set the arrival runways by clicking on the blue circles on the overhead image of the airport. So at LAX you could select 24R and 25L with white circles making sure all other circles for the other runways are blue.  All traffic should then wish to arrive on the 2 selected runways. In game you can send an arriving aircraft to a different runway by instructing it to "Enter Final" then click on the desired runway.

I hope that helps. Now the experts can correct my advice!

I was going to say that to make things really interesting, select all 8 runways so they now have white dots, but those darn smarty pants at FeelThere made it so that if you do select all 8 runways, only four in the same direction are active.

What I will do is about an hour of planes landing at one set of runways, I will simulate a wind direction change and then route all the aircraft to the opposite set of runways.

Happy controlling,
RickyJ