The simFlight Network Forums

UPDATED - [Tracon!2012 SE]Beginner questions and some other things, please help

Crystal Noir

Hi there, first of all, I love this sim. I tried ATCpro that is more advanced but the voice recognition is a mess, with the TTS technology, it's more easy to make us being understood with the windows training method !

I'm a beginner and watch the manual but there are some things that are dark for me : 

1 - The manual say for the altitude we have to say for example for 10300  : "one zero thousand three hundred".

But when I want to say 13000 I say : "one three thousand" the pilot answer negative. To make it work I have to say "one three hundred" and the pilot answer ok but say "one three thousand" why I can't say "one three thousand" and the pilot can ? Is there something I don't understand ? : 

[seems to be because I don't let the sim to terminate the sentence before releasing the push to talk key]

2 - Radar contact. On my first session in LAS, all the departure refuse to communicate with me, each time I made a "radar contact" the pilot answer "negative", I have to restart the sim. :

[It seems and after re-reading the doc, that the plane should finish its take-off before having a contact with us, I don't understand exactly when I can "radar contact" a pilot despite the manual, the manual talk about clicking the plane before or something like that, I'm not sure of what I have to do but before a small time, the "radar contact" works (but I have to make this contact before the pilote is 10 mn away from the center dans 3000 feet, something like that)]

3 - Also the manual mention the tag name of aircrafts but it seems that they not be used in the sim. I always have N456PC for example but never the tag mentioned in the manual like "LESLIE" or "FIELD AIR" etc...