The simFlight Network Forums

Setting and reading nosewheel position

Hi,

I'm a little new to the P3D/Prosim/FSUIPC world, so apologies in advance for use of wrong terminology or misunderstandings.

I'm making a motorised, force-feedback tiller for the 737 (Prosim's model). To make it work I need to both set and read the nosewheel position.

The former seems straight forward, but the latter makes me scratch my head. 🤔

So the first question is if it's possible to read the actual nosewheel position. This is important because I use the difference in tiller position and actual nosewheel position to increase force feedback (the bigger the difference the harder the force feedback, with ff increasing exponentially).

I'm using Arduino and prefer interfacing over network/IP. FSUIPC6 and latest versions of P3D and Prosim.

Any tips? 😀

On 12/25/2020 at 8:38 PM, Flygard said:

So the first question is if it's possible to read the actual nosewheel position.

I'm not sure it is. What are you using to set the position?

There is an indexed simvar GEAR STEER ANGLE that I could add, with indices for centre, left, right and aux (and also individual variables for each), but I'm not sure if this is what you are after or if this would be populated when using ProSim. Do you want me to add these to see if they can be of use?

John

On 12/29/2020 at 12:08 PM, John Dowson said:

I'm not sure it is. What are you using to set the position?

Nothing at the moment, to be honest. Whilst I (mostly) have the prototype hardware ready and working, I'm still investigating the best approach in terms of integrating it with the sim. I was under the impression that I could do this using FSUIPC as well?

I was basically planning to integrate the "setting" part the same way everyone else does with their tillers. However since I'm using Arduino AND (preferably) want to do it over the network rather than USB I'll probably run into a bunch of issues. 😁