The simFlight Network Forums

Steam download, or regular?

Slidellian

4 hours ago, Slidellian said:

Hey there,

So I'm brand new to T3D, and I'm about to buy the Pro version. I've.... I've never used steam before. I'm open to it, but should I get the regular download, or should I do the steam version?

Thanks,

David

It doesn’t really matter. Personally, I wouldn’t start using Steam just for this game for two main reasons. One, some of the DLCs are not available on Steam and, two, a benefit of Steam is automatic updates. However, the developers stopped updating the game engine over 3 years ago. So, no benefit there.

Just an FYI, the developers are working on a brand new version. No ETA on a release date but if I were in your shoes knowing the status of the current version, I would seriously consider weighing my buy now/wait for new version options.

• Like 1

To add to the above post, it should be mentioned that another advantage of Steam that should not be underestimated is refunds.
If a game does not run flawlessly or you simply do not like it, you can return it within two weeks, as long as it has been played for less than two hours, and the purchase price will be refunded without any red tape, provided you don't abuse that system.

Personally, I would generally prefer Steam. In this particular case, however, I fully agree with @crbascott.
There will be no more updates for the game and the chance of a sale is greater on the FeelThere website than on Steam. Although a publisher can discount their games and DLC every 2 months (if I'm not mistaken) on Steam, FeelThere tends to do it on their web store instead, which is especially interesting for people residing in the US.