The simFlight Network Forums

Using SimConnect.dll and FSUIPC WAPID.dll in the same project

Norbyx

I've been trying to use both the SimConnect.dll and the WAPID.dll in the same project in Visual Studio C# but I always get an error message and the code won't compile. (System.BadImageFormatException   HRESULT: 0x8007000B).

Though I've been successful in running both dll's individually, but not both in the same project. I've tried to change the target platform from x64 to x86 to AnyCPU but either the SimConnect or the WAPID gives back an error.

I'm no professional programmer, nor do I know alot about programming, so I'd be thankful if someone could help me figure out how to fix this issue!! 

Do you mean Microsoft.FlightSimulator.SimConnect.dll and FSUIPC_WAPID.DLL?

Assuming you do:

FSUIPC_WAPID.DLL is 64 bit only. So your application must run as a 64-bit process. The best way to do this is to set it to target x64 only. Not Any CPU.

FSUIPC_WAPID.DLL is not a managed (.net) library. Therefore it cannot be linked into your application at compile time. It is only loaded at runtime. So this DLL can not prevent the application from compiling. If the architecture is wrong (e.g. your application is running at 32-bit) then you will get an error at runtime, not compile time. I surprised you're saying this is causing a compile problem.

Microsoft.FlightSimulator.SimConnect.dll that comes with FSX is compiled to target 'Any CPU'. I don't have MSFS but the managed simconnect libraries for MSFS must be either 'Any CPU' or 'x64'. Therefore they should run ok in an x64 application.

Are you using any other third-party dlls or Nuget packages? Maybe one of those is causing the issue.

I suggest making a new blank project targeting x64 and adding in the libraries you need one by one. After adding each one, make sure it compiles and that you can still open the WAPID.dll connection. This might narrow down the problem for you.

Paul 

• 3 weeks later...
4 hours ago, Intood said: