The simFlight Network Forums

FSUIPC Data to VB then out to Serial port

Hello All,

Can someone help me out with this???

What I am trying to do is Get data from FSUIPC (Say Airspeed for example), and read it from a VB program and send that data out to the serial port using a simple VB program. Conversely, I would like to send data in to the serial port (I.E. Rudder position) and have it read by the VB program and have it write to FSUIPC. I can do the hardware interface, but looking fpr some help in coding this using VB. I can program in VB but quiet not sure how to write an I/O sequence to do this. If someone can post a sample listing I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

Sean W.

I have no experience whatso ever with reading and writeing to COM ports but.......

Here is some code I found on PLanet source code that may help...

It has three OCX that need regsvr32 ing but appart from that just open it up and read the code and start communicating with your serial ports.

http://www.planetsourcecode.com/vb/scrigWId=1#zip

If this dosnt work go to planetsourcecode.com and do a search for VB & serial port

Regarding the serial inteface portion of your question, working with the serial ports can be a painful thing, and you will need a good set of library code to help you. In the past when I've done this, I've always purchased a commercial package, as the are usually more stable, full featured, good docs and good example programs. There is quite a good selection out there, and most are not that expensive.

If you choose a library that is not stable and tested, you will spend time trying to understand if the problem you are having is your code, the library code, the serial port, the O/S, etc.

Hi,

Using serial ports with Windows can be a pain in the comm port for sure.

I've been working on a Java SDK for FSUIPC which will be released soon(ish). COM port access under java is actually quite simple.