The simFlight Network Forums

Polling Issue - FSUIPCClient.dll

Good afternoon everyone,

I just want to start with I am not a programmer and I have read all documentation with the best of my comprehension abilities. I can't seem to identify a cause for my issue. I am writting a VB.NET application (yes it's a weak language but it is all that I know) that is basically updating some text fields with values from the autopilot. Here are some specifics:

Microsoft FSX

Using default aircraft - Cessna 172

WideFS Client connected to remote FSX system

Latest version of FSUIPCClient.dll

Here is the code behind a timer that is polling every 300ms:

Private Sub Poll_Timer_Tick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Poll_Timer.Tick

Dim airSpeed As Offset(Of Integer) = New FSUIPC.Offset(Of Integer)(&H2BC)

Dim altAltitude As Offset(Of Integer) = New FSUIPC.Offset(Of Integer)(&H7D4)

Dim altRate As Offset(Of Short) = New FSUIPC.Offset(Of Short)(&H7F2)

Dim altHead As Offset(Of Short) = New FSUIPC.Offset(Of Short)(&H7CC)

FSUIPCConnection.Process()

Dim altALT As Double = (altAltitude.Value / 65536D) * 3.28084D

Dim altHDG As Double = (altHead.Value / 65536D) * 360D

Me.TxtAPALT.Text = altALT.ToString("f0")

Me.TxtAPRate.Text = altRate.Value.ToString("f0")

Me.TxtAPHDG.Text = altHDG.ToString("f0")

End Sub

This code works perfectly for a little while. It updates the fields and reports changes accurately and timely, I was pretty happy with it . . . until . . . it randomly gets the following error:

FSUIPC Error #15: FSUIPC_ERR_SIZE. The amount of data requested exceeded the maximum allowed in one Process().