The simFlight Network Forums

Runtime Offsets with type

kn0pee

Hi All.

I'm developing a program in C#, which involves dynamic offsets (The user creates settings in the program which are saved to a file).

The data the user inputs is 

• The offset address (e.g. 0x02BC),
  • The offset size / length (e.g. 4)
  • The type of the output (e.g. int32, float32 etc.)
  • Adjustments to be made to the end result (e.g / 256)

Currently the program creates the offset, using the address and length. This works great and when manually specifying the type I can successfully get the value from the flight sim.

Offset myOffset = new Offset("Main", OffsetAddress, OffsetLength);

However I am not sure how I can go about using my type variable when getting the information

int offsetValue = myOffset.GetValue<MyTypeHere>();

I get the error Type is a variable but used as a type. I have also tried typeof(MyTypeHere), and several other methods however I haven't been able to fix it.

I am quite new to C# so apologies if this is a really stupid question.

EDIT: I know I can use a switch(MyTypeHere) and then have a case for every single type, however I am trying to avoid this if possible.

Thanks,

Brad

Edited by kn0pee

Hi Brad,

In C#, the <T> syntax is information for the compiler at compile-time. This means you can't use variables for 'T' because the compiler won't know what the type is. So, the only way to use this syntax is a switch statement with the correct type 'hard-coded':

Here's a simple example using a string to hold the type: (Could also be an enum you have created)

string variableType = "Int32";
            switch (variableType)
            {
                case "Int32":
                    int valueInt = myOffset.GetValue<int>();
                    break;
                case "Double":
                    double valueDbl = myOffset.GetValue<double>();
                    break;
            }