The simFlight Network Forums

Newbie FSIPU programming question

Hello Peter - I'm a newbie FSIPCU programmer and was hoping that you can help me with a simple sample.

I would like to read, printf the value, then write the value to the airplane HEADING offset at 0x580.

I'm currently looking through the sample UIPCHello.c code. I guess I'm just looking for a small code snippet that shows the pvoid set-up, then the FSUIPC_ code to do this - this small bit would help me get started..

Thank you for your time.

I would like to read, printf the value, then write the value to the airplane HEADING offset at 0x580.

I don't do actual code for folks. That's programming and you should really be a programmer before you start, especially if you are considering using C or C++.

But it is easy enough to describe. Do an FSUIPC_Read from 0x580 (4 bytes long) into a variable declared as an "unsigned int", then call FSUIPC_Process to make it happen. Printf the value times 360.0 and divided by (65536.0 * 65536.0) as a floating point number (a double, using the %f formatter).

I'm currently looking through the sample UIPCHello.c code. I guess I'm just looking for a small code snippet that shows the pvoid set-up

Ah. Then what don't you understand about the Hello example? What do you mean about a "pvoid setup" -- sorry, that doesn't really mean anything. You don't set up any "pvoids". You make a pointer to your Heading value, declared as an "unsigned int" by taking its name and prepending & (eg &heading). Please refer to your C reference books for C syntax. You do need that first.