The simFlight Network Forums

Frame rate drop after FSUIPC_Process()

I have written a small application (using Borland C++) that uses FSUIPC to write the following parameters into FS9 :

FSUIPC_Write(0x238, 1, &upHour, &dwResult)

FSUIPC_Write(0x23B, 1, &upZulu, &dwResult)

FSUIPC_Write(0x23E, 2, &upDay, &dwResult)

I then call :

FSUIPC_Process(&dwResult)

to update the sim with the parameters. This all works okay, however, I am finding that after the Process call, the frame rates drop significantly (1-3fps in some cases, but in general to about 30% of value prior to calling FSUIPC_Process).

As a newbie, I fear that I may be forgetting something, but even after killing my application, the frame rates do not improve.

Does anyone have any ideas or experience of this?

Thanks,

Richard

I have written a small application (using Borland C++) that uses FSUIPC to write the following parameters into FS9 :

FSUIPC_Write(0x238, 1, &upHour, &dwResult)

FSUIPC_Write(0x23E, 2, &upDay, &dwResult)

I then call :

to update the sim with the parameters. This all works okay, however, I am finding that after the Process call, the frame rates drop significantly (1-3fps in some cases, but in general to about 30% of value prior to calling FSUIPC_Process).

As a newbie, I fear that I may be forgetting something, but even after killing my application, the frame rates do not improve.

When you change the time, and especially the date, FS will load new textures and so on and this may affect frame rates. If you change the data back to where it was before do the frame rates revert?

FSUIPC isn't doing anything when you are not calling FSUIPC_Process, and in fact when you do in the above case it is only writing those three locations. There's no magic or other activity started up.