The simFlight Network Forums

Using WideFS over Wireless LAN?

Peter:

I"m trying to use WideFS with Project Magenta via a Linksys 54mb 802.11G wireless broadband router, 2 client laptops and a tower unit. Have others done this before?

My problem is: I can see the router assigns 192.xx.xx.xx IP addresses to these machines, but when I point one of the client .ini files at the FS server machine via ServerIPAddr=, nothing happens. I have tried pinging the server machine from the clients, and vice versa, and they do not see each other, yet they are all able to get to the Internet via the router.

Any ideas? You can tell I'm no networking expert.

And, thanks as always for your groundbreaking work.

Best,

Ian Dix

I"m trying to use WideFS with Project Magenta via a Linksys 54mb 802.11G wireless broadband router, 2 client laptops and a tower unit. Have others done this before?

One of my PCs (actually the Notebook) is on a Wireless LAN -- I use USRobotics devices with "Turbo" mode (matching, theoretically, the 100 mbs wired LAN speed).

My problem is: I can see the router assigns 192.xx.xx.xx IP addresses to these machines, but when I point one of the client .ini files at the FS server machine via ServerIPAddr=, nothing happens.

Any ideas? You can tell I'm no networking expert.

I'm no expert either. It's all trial and error with me. But, certainly, I don't like letting anything assign IP addresses. I do that myself. You should be able to overrule the router and assign your own, fixed, IP addresses. Check the documentation and/or on-line help. I can't remember what I had to do with my router (its a Zoom) but I followed the instructions that came with it.

If you don't do this it is likely that the IP address is different each time.