The simFlight Network Forums

AUTOPILOT INCREMENTS

Hello Peter,

I know this is an old problem, but it keeps rearing it's ugly head. I have designed several panels for FS2004, all of which can be found at various sites.

I am currrently working on a B727-200 panel, while beta testing yesterday and doing an ILS approach vectored by ATC, I found that the autopilot airspeed and heading would only allow 10 degree adjustments and the altitude 100 feet.

This is most annoying, especially when I am using the same autopilot gauges from my previous B717-200 which works perfectly.

Why does this happen? Is it something in the airfile of the aircraft

I am running FSUIPC 3.1(unreg) WinXP Pro AMD 2100 700meg RAM

FS.cfg has had [OLDMODULES] [FSGAUGES] and [FSSOUND] added.

As a designer I find this continual problem frustrating and adds considerable time in development.

Please help me to permanently rid me of this problem

Regards

Steve Southey

Australia

This is confusing. Did you write to Project Magenta support with the same questions? This looks identical, so I'll repeat my replies for the benefit of other readers -- though you will actually find your answers in one or other of the threads already here. One quite recent one, in fact.

I found that the autopilot airspeed and heading would only allow 10 degree adjustments and the altitude 100 feet.

... Why does this happen? Is it something in the airfile of the aircraft

No, it is caused by some bad gauge programming somewhere.

Microsoft have been very specific about this. I consider it a weakness in the design of part of FS, but they say that if folks designed their gauges correctly it wouldn't happen. Therefore it won't be "fixed".

The acceleration from units of 1 to units of 10, or whatever, is triggered by a second control following the first within so many milliseconds. I'm not sure of the actual interval off-hand, but it relates to normal keyboard

repeat rates and so on, so is around 30-40 mSecs.