The simFlight Network Forums

Elevator Trim

Hi,

I am a student working on a flight sim in Ireland, you my have been talking to some of the others also working on it.

We have a control column from a 737 and the main electric trim switches on the column have been wired up. I am trying to get functionality for them in FS2002 but Elevator Trim Up/Down controls do not appear in FSUIPC. Can I call them out in the FSUIPC.ini file by using there 5 digit code or are they actually in FSUIPC under a different name as I have seen both Elev Up/Down and Elevator Up/Down?

Also having trouble calibrating flight controls! They are working in FSUIPC but in flight the aircraft is only level in roll when the wheel is turn thru more than 45 degrees to the left. Is this a problem with FSUIPC or does it go back to the EPIC coding?

Sláinte

Ned

I am trying to get functionality for them in FS2002 but Elevator Trim Up/Down controls do not appear in FSUIPC. Can I call them out in the FSUIPC.ini file by using there 5 digit code or are they actually in FSUIPC under a different name as I have seen both Elev Up/Down and Elevator Up/Down?

Why would you need FSUIPC to assign trim controls? They are standard FS assignable controls. Did you check the FS Options-Controls-Assignments list?

They are assigned by default on the keyboard as:

ELEV_TRIM_DN=36,8 (Home, or number pad 7 with NumLock off)

ELEV_TRIM_UP=35,8 (End, or number pade 1 with NumLock off)

These are lines from the FS2002.CFG file. The names here are the names you will see in the FSUIPC drop down list too. How did you miss them?

FSUIPC only lists things by their 'official' names according to FS -- the names are those actually listed in their CONTROLS.DLL and included in the "List of FSxxxx Controls" documents available on http://www.schiratti.com/dowson. Also, they are the control names seen in the FS CFG file against the key presses and button assignments it makes.