The simFlight Network Forums

Flight Director

Hi Pete,

So I've just searched what's up on the forum here on the FD matter. Indeed I know 2EE8 and 2EF0 don't give the needle position but a direction in which the needles should point the aircraft.

Either way, when I read them from FSUIPC I get wierd stuff. The value changes on each read and goos from very large to very low (below 0) numbers.

When I make the plane turn a lot (like from 0° to 100° or 200°) with the autopilot, the bank stabilises on 000008.

These numbers are nothing like what I get from FSInterr.

I suspect I am doing something wrong here.

I'm new at C++ but I have managed to make this work in OpenGL (all you see on the img works)

Fokker50EASIOpenGL.jpg

So I guess I'm not such a n00b as you might suspect. I am reading other stuff and using it proprely.

Ok so for this FD thing, I declare:

double _fdpitch;
double _fdbank;
int _fdflag;

_fdflag works super. I tried changing the data type from _fdpitch and _fdbank to float or int and though the numbers get different each time, I get nothing like I see in FSInterrogate.

Then I got this in the FSUIPC code:

!FSUIPC_Read(0x2EE8, 8, &_fdpitch, &dwResult) ||
!FSUIPC_Read(0x2EF0, 8, &_fdbank, &dwResult) ||
!FSUIPC_Read(0x2EE0, 4, &_fdflag, &dwResult) ||
//etc..

At the moment I show the values in the green text you see on the picture above. Maybe it gets screwed up while showing it as text ?

One other thing. I was working last night on those GS and LOC bugs. The GS was working good but I had a lot of issues with the LOC. It showed me values in the texbox from 0 to 127 and then jumped to 255 and counted backwards to 128. Even if I used double as type it didn't want to show negative values, so I just use an if/else and substract 256 from the value if the value is higher than 127. That works though probably unclean sollution.

I hope you can give me some tips here.

Cheers,