The simFlight Network Forums

Tiller - a feature suggestion

Pete,

I was thinking out loud on the FDS forum about how to get a separate controller for tiller/nosewheel, and I came up the following:

All you'd need is a program that hooks into FSUIPC and assigns a different axis/controller to the rudder when on the ground and below 30kts (taxiing, in other words...) That way, you'd be able to have (in effect) a "tiller" axis/controller for ground movement and a "pedals" axis/controller for rudder while flying/during takeoff and landing rolls...

In thinking a little longer, it occurs to me that this sort of feature could be a part of FSUIPC itself - but I'm no programmer, I haven't the faintest idea whether it would even be possible to "kludge" a different controller, even using (the excellent) FSUIPC!

Thoughts?

All you'd need is a program that hooks into FSUIPC and assigns a different axis/controller to the rudder when on the ground and below 30kts (taxiing, in other words...) That way, you'd be able to have (in effect) a "tiller" axis/controller for ground movement and a "pedals" axis/controller for rudder while flying/during takeoff and landing rolls...

That's more or less what I do in PFC.DLL for the PFC jet cockpit, which has a tiller axis input too. I actually go further, gradually changing the sensitivities of the two inputs -- what FS sees is a combination of the two, all tiller at 0 kts, all rudder at about 60, half and half at 30.

In thinking a little longer, it occurs to me that this sort of feature could be a part of FSUIPC itself - but I'm no programmer, I haven't the faintest idea whether it would even be possible to "kludge" a different controller, even using (the excellent) FSUIPC!