The simFlight Network Forums

Questions about GPSout and FSUIPC

Hi Peter,

This is my first time working with Flight Sims, and there are some uncertainties that I hope you can give me some suggestions.

I am currently trying to designing a program (with VB.net) which can integrate navigation, weather and fuel monitoring system. And consistently display the output information on an alternative LCD screen collectively near the sit at cockpit.

I have been trying out the GPSout which should output the GPS data that I needed to plot the flight route on the map. However, I was unable to gain access to the GPSout.dll. It would help a lot if I can see how the data looks like in GPSout.dll, what way is it possible to call the internal function of dll?

On the other hand, if I am seeking fuel/throttle values, will FSUIPC be the one to use? Similarly case, I do not know how to access the data from dll as same as GPSout. So is it possible if you can give me some help?

Hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards,

Ivan

I am currently trying to designing a program (with VB.net) which can integrate navigation, weather and fuel monitoring system. And consistently display the output information on an alternative LCD screen collectively near the sit at cockpit.

Okay. FSUIPC can supply all that.

I have been trying out the GPSout which should output the GPS data that I needed to plot the flight route on the map.

Erbut it outputs to a Serial Port in NMEA format. Surely you would be better off reading the data you need from FSUIPC? GPSout is intended to feed data to existing map programs which are designed to work with real GPS devices. It "emulates" a GPS, using FS as the "aerial".

Haven't you read even the small amount of documentation supplied with it?

However, I was unable to gain access to the GPSout.dll. [\quote]