The simFlight Network Forums

Generic axes

I’m running on some home build hardware with numerous buttons, encoders and pot meters and it all works like a charm.

Now i’ve come program 3 axis and what I hope to achieve is to add either two macro values or two key presses, one for each directions of turn. Ive tested this with one direction and with a prober set Delta i’m surprised how well it works.

But the question is if it is possible to create a generic axis with this to values assigned to each direction of movement.

I can see from the standard options that ex. Xpdr_set can be used in this way but i’m unable to figure if this can be done for custom assignments.

I have looked at the SDK in the event that a subroutine must be made but I must admit that i’m not that good with C sharp nor ++.

Alternately ill use rotary encoders but since the function is a limited turn, a pot would by far be the best solution.

• 2 weeks later...
Now i’ve come program 3 axis and what I hope to achieve is to add either two macro values or two key presses, one for each directions of turn. Ive tested this with one direction and with a prober set Delta i’m surprised how well it works.

Before we go any further, could you please expand on this a little, as I've really not much idea of what you are talking about? Do you mean by "3 axis" the aileron, elevator and rudder? And if so, why are you wanting to do this as if you are flying with a keyboard, which of course most certainly does use increments and decrements.

But the question is if it is possible to create a generic axis with this to values assigned to each direction of movement.

I can see from the standard options that ex. Xpdr_set can be used in this way but i’m unable to figure if this can be done for custom assignments.

Again I am afraid I fail to understand you. Sorry. "a generic axis with this to values assigned .."? I'm lost in your phrasing here. Can you possibly be specific, and then it might all become clear?