The simFlight Network Forums

Wireless Setup for WideFS

I recently purchased WideFS. I set it up and expected to have to do more configuring but it connected right away. The only problem is that it will disconnect every once in a while though most of the time it stays connected. Both computers are connected wireless to the same network. I am guessing the problem isn't due to firewall or the fact that one computer is Vista and one is XP since connecting is not a problem. I have limited knowledge on TCP/IP so I need some help. I downloaded the ZeroWirelessShutdown and ran it on the FSX(Windows XP) computer but this did not have an effect. Do I need to run it on both computers? Also, when ever I try to give the computer a static IP, it cannot connect to the internet. It always reconnects to WideFS when I repair the connection. How do I solve this and establish a constant connection?

I recently purchased WideFS. I set it up and expected to have to do more configuring but it connected right away. The only problem is that it will disconnect every once in a while though most of the time it stays connected. Both computers are connected wireless to the same network. I am guessing the problem isn't due to firewall or the fact that one computer is Vista and one is XP since connecting is not a problem. I have limited knowledge on TCP/IP so I need some help. I downloaded the ZeroWirelessShutdown and ran it on the FSX(Windows XP) computer but this did not have an effect. Do I need to run it on both computers?

I'm afraid I really have no idea how to make wireless setups work well. I sometimes do have one laptop connected wirelessly to by cockpit, but only the GPSout map following, so the traffic is very light. Even then it dops out now and then, not often though since I switched to a Wireless N Router/Access point. Previously my "G" one was pretty useless for prolonged inter-PC exchanges