The simFlight Network Forums

Overcast option

Mr. Dowson

Would it be possible for an external program or a module like FSUIPC to force FS to reduce visibility to 0 whenever the user aircraft is within an overcast cloud layer? The module would have to monitor the weather at the user aircraft (overcast layer altitudes) and compare it to the users altitude. If an overcast layer exists say between 1000ft and 3000ft could fsuipc or some other module be made to reduce vis to 0 while the aircraft is between those altitude and revert back to the default upon exiting. I use FS9 and its overcast has always had problems. I know FSUIPC knows when the user is in an area that has an overcast layer, I dont know if it can read the bases and tops. I think an option like this would give a more realistic feel for flying in an ovc layer. Since I am not a programmer I wouldnt know how to achieve this so I look to someone who knows much more about the inner workings of FS.

Thankyou for listening

John

Would it be possible for an external program or a module like FSUIPC to force FS to reduce visibility to 0 whenever the user aircraft is within an overcast cloud layer? The module would have to monitor the weather at the user aircraft (overcast layer altitudes) and compare it to the users altitude. If an overcast layer exists say between 1000ft and 3000ft could fsuipc or some other module be made to reduce vis to 0 while the aircraft is between those altitude and revert back to the default upon exiting. I use FS9 and its overcast has always had problems.

The visibility does normally descrease to about zero when actually IN clouds, providing one is not near the edge or top or bottom surface, when it should be translucent. These are graphics effects which are rendered better on some video cards and drivers than others. They can also be affected markedly by different add-on cloud textures. I never heard of any specific problems otherwise with FS9.