The simFlight Network Forums

dll for FSUIPC & Java

Hey Pete,

i downloaded your FSUIPC SDK and found the java dll. So i started programming around a bit, and the read/write methods from FSUIPC provide the data in a byte-array. But there is no documentation along with the dll, and it seems the author has changed his e-mail address. I wrote to him, but mailer-daemon returned.

Is there any doc about the dll, especially in which byte order the data has to be provided for writes and is provided from reads?

Thanks

Snooky

i downloaded your FSUIPC SDK and found the java dll. So i started programming around a bit, and the read/write methods from FSUIPC provide the data in a byte-array. But there is no documentation along with the dll, and it seems the author has changed his e-mail address. I wrote to him, but mailer-daemon returned.

Is there any doc about the dll, especially in which byte order the data has to be provided for writes and is provided from reads?

Sorry, all I was given is included in the SDK. I don't know what to suggest if the author is not available. Can you not try something and tell byte order from the results? Is Java likely to use a different byte order to the standard Intel one?

Regards

Pete

I don't know if java is capable of middle Endian, but it can operate with both little and big endian or at least i could write methods that can. But for that i have to know in which way the bytes are given. Unfortunately i can't try it until monday. On monday i will read/write some 4 byte integers and try to determine the byte order.

Thanks anyway, i will report back on monday!

Hey Pete,

i recognized, that the dll used for interfacing fsuipc with java only functions as a wrapper calling the functions of the c dll.

Do you maybe know by any chance in which way the fsuipc read and write functions want the data? It should be a byte array anyway, but in which order?

Little Endian or Big Endian?

Thanks

Snooky