The simFlight Network Forums

GPSout + Seattle Avionics

Newbie question. I've been flying FSX extensively for the past 2 years. I recently purchased a netbook with Seattle Avionics software (moving map) on it. I'd like to hook up the netbook when I fly FSX on my desktop. Neither computer has a serial port. Can I do it? If so, what do I need to make it happen.

Here is what I have

Desktop (which I run FSX on)

- HP800m

- USB ports galore, no serial

- 1394 port

- no bluetooth but I could attach one externally if needed.

Netbook

- USB ports

- bluetooth receiver

It sounds like I need Peter's very well respected GPSout program.

- Is this part of FSUIPC or is it different?

- If I get FSUIPC, does it do GPSout (I've been meaning to purchase FSUIPC anyways to better configure my Saitek controls)

- Where do I download GPSout from

- Is there a software that will allow me to connect both computers via USB? Are there other options for those of us with no serial ports?

Thanks for any guidance you can share....

Doug Wells

I'm happy to purchase whatever software is needed to do this. I'd rather not open up either the netbook or desktop to install a serial port.

Newbie question. I've been flying FSX extensively for the past 2 years. I recently purchased a netbook with Seattle Avionics software (moving map) on it. I'd like to hook up the netbook when I fly FSX on my desktop. Neither computer has a serial port. Can I do it? If so, what do I need to make it happen.

Almost no PCs, let alone Netbooks, have serial ports these days. But USB's can do anything., Yuo can get any and all manner of ports plugging into USB (even old extinct Game Ports!). A simple USB-Serial adapter can cost as little as a few dollars or pounds.