The simFlight Network Forums

FSUIPC 3.93 installer Windows 98 compatibility

Hi guys,

I'm new to simflight - thought I'd come direct to get the right answers.

Probably a stupid question, but I'm considering registering/paying for my recently downloaded FSUIPC 3.93 for FS9 (in the hope of removing the wind shifts amongst other things) and I tried running the installer on my Windows 98 (yes, Windows 98... :oops: ) FS PC... and it failed to do anything :? . Of course, I am wondering initially is it compatible with 98, I thought it was compatible with all MS Os's - as I read somewhere written by Pete?

Hopefully it is. If not, do all FSUIPC versions have the capability to remove wind shifts? And how much better is this version compared to earlier FS9 versions?

Thanks in advance.

I tried running the installer on my Windows 98 (yes, Windows 98... :oops: ) FS PC... and it failed to do anything

Please describe exactly what you mean by "failed to do anything". What actually happened?

Of course, I am wondering initially is it compatible with 98

Yes, of course, it should be. It is standard Wndows code, compiled using the same compiler as FSUIPC3 itself.

Hopefully it is. If not, do all FSUIPC versions have the capability to remove wind shifts? And how much better is this version compared to earlier FS9 versions?

It is better certainly in the sense that I will not support older versions.

Let me know more about the problem and we'll fix it.

Pete

Hi Pete, thanks for the reply.

I must say, product support for FSUIPC is better than some payware one's. Indeed, some don't even have a forum, so respect goes out to you for this. :)

I'm going to have another go later, but the problem I'm describing was, when I clicked on the installer icon in the folder in to which it was extracted, the time glass icon appeared for no more than a second. I then waited but nothing happened, contrary to what I expected... :(