The simFlight Network Forums

Conversion problems ?

Hi Pete

Sorry for my bad English, i'm a young French student in computer science.

I use FSUIPC for my professional training, indeed i have to replace the old visualization program of a flight simulator (FlightGear) by Flight Simulator X.

For this work I use 2 Thread. The first thread receives data through a socket and the second write with FSUIPC.

The server converts data and send this one with the socket.

I use 32-bit PC and i have little problem of fluidity image. I think it's because of conversion.

Example of latitude :

int intLatB=0;
int intLatH=0;
double latB=0;
double latH=0;
double latitude;

// --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latitude=latitude/(90.0/10001750.0);
latB=modf(latitude,&latH);
latB=latB*(65536.0*65536.0);

v=modf(latB,&latB);

intLatB=latB;
intLatH=latH;

( ... )

//Latitude
FSUIPC_Write(0x0560,4,&intLatB,&dwResult);
FSUIPC_Write(0x0564,4,&intLatH,&dwResult);

// --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[/CODE]

This is correct? Or you have another idea?

Thank you in advance for your help and sorry again for my very bad English.

Regards,

Rémi

I use 32-bit PC and i have little problem of fluidity image. I think it's because of conversion.

Your code seems only concerned with latitude. What anout altitude and longitude? You should write all three together, as one 24-byte block. Inside FSX they are just one structure. You should do the same, make a 3-element structure.

//Latitude

And in any case you should write this as one 8-byte integer. If your compiler doesn't support "long long" or 2_int64" types (64-bit integers), the make the one 64-bit value with a two DWORD array.

How often are you sending the data (FSUIPC_Process seds it)? You should try to equal the frame rate of FS, otherwise it will certainly be jerky.

Regards

Pete

My code

double longitude;
double latitude;
double altitude;