The simFlight Network Forums

Config advice?

I am running FSX with Fspassenger on one PC, Activesky 2012 and wideFS on a seperate laptop, and Plan-g and Radar contact 4 with wideFS on another laptop. Everything works ok but I highly doubt I have them all configured/setup properly to make the most of them. I currently run radar contact on a high end laptop with plan g but I am think activesky needs more horsepower since it takes several minutes to install snapshots before flight. I see frequent "slow downs" with radar contact but I am not sure if that is a resource issue with laptop or a symptom of poor fsuipc configuration. I am not new to flying or computers. I am very new to flying at this level and trying make the many vendor products work seamlessly. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Rob

I am running FSX with Fspassenger on one PC, Activesky 2012 and wideFS on a seperate laptop, and Plan-g and Radar contact 4 with wideFS on another laptop. Everything works ok but I highly doubt I have them all configured/setup properly to make the most of them. I currently run radar contact on a high end laptop with plan g but I am think activesky needs more horsepower since it takes several minutes to install snapshots before flight. I see frequent "slow downs" with radar contact but I am not sure if that is a resource issue with laptop or a symptom of poor fsuipc configuration.

There's really no such thing as a "poor FSUIPC configuration" provided you don't mess with WideFS paramters. The main thing should be to keep the FS frame rates down to something which works smoothly for everything -- like 30 fps. 40fps is fine for a network of relatively unloaded PCs and Laprtops. Also try to avoid WiFi which is never so good for the sort of continuous exchanges in use here.