The simFlight Network Forums

Customize the weather of a B737 Simulator

Hello everyone,

I'm a new member on this forum and I have several questions.

I'm a French computer science student currently in internship in a lab in Melbourne, FL. We have here a B737 Simulator that runs under Prepar3d and uses FSUIPC.

I'm working on the weather and for my experiments, I would like to know if it is possible to replay a past weather ?

For example I'm designing a device that uses the weather radar data from the 29th of March, 2014 and I would like to know how to use these data (which are in the specific radar data format but can be exported to KMZ file) on Prepar3d to display the same weather as my device does.

I haven't watched the simulator code yet, I just know that it exists in FSUIPC at Offset C000 a XML file called New Weather that may allow me to do what I want, but I'm not sure and I don't know how it works.

Thank you in advance for helping me !

I'm working on the weather and for my experiments, I would like to know if it is possible to replay a past weather ?

Thank you in advance for helping me !

This is really the wrong place to ask -- I support FSUIPC and WideFs, but no weather programs.

Certainly programs like ActiveSky and OpusFSX and others are capable of providing weather for almost any date, time and place. Please refer to their documentation. look for "historical weather" or somesuch.

I haven't watched the simulator code yet, I just know that it exists in FSUIPC at Offset C000 a XML file called New Weather that may allow me to do what I want, but I'm not sure and I don't know how it works.

There is no XML in FSUIPC. It does not support XML. Offset C000 is the start of a 4kb area in which binary encoding of current weather in FS can be read and written. It is documented as "New Weather Interface" in the FSUIPC SDK, and demonstrated by the program "WeatherSet2".